Chetumal * 01 - 05.11.2016


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Chetumal
November 10th 2016
Published: November 10th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I only went to Chetumal because I wanted to buy some material to make bracelets. I´m gonna give it a try to make and sell some.

I found someone on couchsurfing with who I could stay the night. I arrived a bit late because I spent time with the people I met in Bacalar. I don´t like to use couchsurfing just for the free stay, so I asked if I could stay an extra night to get to know him and the city better. I ended up staying for 4 nights! I had great fun with Jorge. He introduced me to some friends and he showed me around the city.

On "Dia de los muertos" (day of the death) we went to a place where they celebrated this tradition on the street. They made an alter with flowers and favourite food of the death ones. I think it´s a really nice tradition to honor the death. We were just watching on the side while Jorge told me a lot about this typical day, when a man came up to us and invited us to take some food as well. I felt a little strange at first because it´s not my tradition and I didn´t want them to think I came for the free food. Then they explained that they wanted to share and show their hospitality. We got some "pan de muerto" (sweet bread, made especially for this day), sweetened papaya and pumpkin and some chocolate milk where you are supposed to dip the bread in. It was really yummy.

Another day we went to a lake next to Xul-Ha, which was very close to Bacalar. We took a swim and then it started raining, so we looked for shelter. While we were sitting there, 2 dogs came along and wanted to play, so we played with them until the rain stopped and we hitch-hiked to Bacalar to meet up with a friend of Jorge. It was getting late so we stayed at Bacalar that night.

The next day, Jennifer came to Chetumal and had to spend the day there because her bus to Palenque was at 23:00. She could drop her bags at Jorge´s place and we spent the day walking through the city.

My last day, Jorge helped me to cross the border. I could´ve taken the ADO bus directly to Belize City, but this way was so much cheaper, We took the bus from Chetumal to the border, where we crossed by foot. On the other side we took a collectivo to Corozal. From there, Jorge went back to Chetumal and I took another bus to Belize City.

Belize City wasn´t very appealing and I didn´t feel very secure so I went directly to the watertaxi that would bring me to Caye Caulker.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0527s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb