adios capitalismo! Adios tontos Americanos!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
March 16th 2006
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mexico I hardly knew thee....

so yet again, I´m exchanging my money, saying my farewells to another country, eating my last chicken mole and chile rellenos, and preparing for the unknown of a beautiful, musically rich island in the Caribbean. But to be honest I didn´t get a good feel for Mexico. I´ve experienced probably the most money driven, touristy area in Mexico, though even that is hard for me to say for sure.

I´ve had many a reminder here of the states. Where to begin? We could start with spring break, the month or so when all the gringos flock to these prestine beaches to festigare. Spring Break. It is a word... a concept.. a tragedy.. that creates fear in the hearts of so many European travelers and Mexicans alike. Luckily I´ve been able to avoid it for the most part, because I´ve kept away from the hotel area and beaches in Cancun. But I have encountered a few and it has been a few too many.

There is just such a different feel to these kids, here for a week, to drink, party, and live it up. Sure many Europeans come to have a good time, but they seem to have an appreciation and respect for the culture and the people. The Americans (generalizing a bit) are pretty loud, either don´t try to speak spanish, or do, but do so in anh overlyconfident, cauky, disrespectful tone. They just plain look stupid. I talked with one guy from Brittain this morning, and he told me at a club last night, he was shoved aside by an american, and warned that he had better move his "ass" (pardon my french) away from "his" area. Beyond belief, huh? I´ve also found a number who were excited about taking all of these pills they bought on the street, and have heard some pretty disgusting stories that they told as well.

okay, moving onto another reminder of the states: The huge mall. Sadly, I´ve been there 3 times in 3 days, for various reasons. One reason being to see the pink panther (Joel, I thought of you and the jelly beans!) at a huge multi-cineplex, as large as any in the states. Again I went to avoid the heat and eat gelato, which wasn´t half bad. The third being to look for a Mexican baseball jersey which sadly they didn´t have (sorry Jesse and Jonah). The mall has Sears, Mcdonalds, subway, burger king, and then sells everything you could find at a mall in the states.

Although I´ve been surrounded, tempted and somewhat comforted by the capitalist feel here at times, I´d say I´m ready to move on and hope to be back here again, to experience a totally different part of this country. I´ll be gone for two weeks plus, and then I´m on my way to Costa Rica, Nicaragua, and hopefully down south if there is time.

Talk to you in couple, hope all is well

mikael

Advertisement



Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0537s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb