Day 5 - Cancun


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Quintana Roo » Cancun
August 10th 2008
Published: August 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hola

Please forgive typing issues - I´m exhausted and dealing with a rather tricksy keyboard (have to whack keys really hard, many keys aren´t labelled and they´re in slightly different places from usual).

I didn´t want to do a ánd then this happened,and then this,and then´-type entry but I´m afraid that I´m too tired for anything else!

I´ve been living the high life,the five star hotel way in Cancun for thepast couple of days. And I have to say that we have a winner for best beach I´ve ever frolicked in. Temperature and colour (highlighter blue and varying other shades) absolutely glorious. WA skies beat Cancun skies though. So if we couldjust combine the two... Maybe another beach on my jaunt will achieve that.

Moving in to the hotel linked to my tour today has been a bit of a shock to my pampered system! I just need a bit of readjust time. hee hee.

Survived my time in Dallas reasonably in tact. Didn´t do much but try to get over jetlag and wander and do the slightly morbid JFK-assassination tourist thing.

Flights have allbeen fine. No-one next to me on the flight fromMelb to LA was a delight! Had a slight panic moment at emigration from the US and another trying not to let my slightly bulgy backpack tip me out of bus hurtling down a Cancun street while trying to resolve a currency issue with the driver. But all good.

Right, I´m off to meet my tour group which is a bit nerve wracking.

I hope this finds you all wonderfully well.



HOLIDAY HINT - If just dangling while parasailing is just too demanding for you, you can do it on a comfy lounge chair.

Advertisement



11th August 2008

It's certainly a plus to hear that your belongings did not end up strewn across a road in Cancun. Hope you're now comfortably in non-five-star-hotel mode and ready to rough it, relatively speaking! You are missed here. My mum and I had a long discussion about Central America over the weekend while I tried to work out where you were on our globe. She thinks you're very brave (sometimes I think she forgets just how much travelling she has done; she underestimates her own courage). We were talking about Guyana, but agreed that's probably a little south of central. Hope you're getting your fix of warmth. It's cold here. We woke up to snow clouds yesterday and apparently it snowed as close as Ringwood. Britain won a gold medal in the pool this morning and I got excited. Charlotte's grown a little more. Ants have moved into the basement. Mucho luvvo xxxxxx
12th August 2008

I don´t know what I´m doing with this blog thing. I don´t know if I just published your comment or not. I didn´t mean to cos I don´t know if that´s what you were expecting. Sorry to hear about the ants. And yes, your Mum has done a lot of full-on stuff! I guess it just seems different to what she´s done and different is always scary. Hence why I´m here because I like to scare myself a bit. I am more relaxed today after meeting the tour grop and feeling reasonably comfortable with them all. Nonetheless spent today on my own and successfully jaunted a fair bit a with only getting marginally ripped off by taxi drivers (I think). I´ll try to delete your entry frompublic view if that´s what´s happened. You can email me on nicharv(I can´t find át´symbol on this keyboard)hotmail.com. I expect Charlotte to be enormous upon my return. Hope your man isn´t being too sooky/boy-sick while unwell. And hope that the rest of you haven´t/don´t get what he has. Big hug! nic (PS Cancun is full of people with young kids so you can put it on a family-friendly holiday list!)

Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb