Es tu casa


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Puebla » Cholula
February 13th 2009
Published: February 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

OK, so everything is still going really well here. Yesterday, after classes, lunch, and our meeting, I went over to my friend Tony's homestay to watch the soccer game between Mexico and the United States (U.S. won 2-0!). Tony's family was amazing, they were so nice and they kept telling me "es tu casa" (it's your house). It think his family actually thought I was funny, because we laughed for like 5 hours straight. We watched the game and talked with his parents about spring break and what we were thinking about doing. Some people want to go down to the Yucatan Peninsula to spend the weekend at the beach and some want to backpack around Chiapas and to me both sound like great ideas. I am trying to decide which I would rather do, they both have their positives and their negatives. The Yucatan would be nice and relaxing and beautiful, but it is really very far away (20 hours by bus or we would have to take a plane), while Chiapas will also be amazing, but not quite as relaxing or as far (only 8 hours by bus). So I have to two to contemplate for the next few days. So while we were watching the game, Tony's host sister-in-law was looking up planes for us trying to help up figure out where we could fly into and leave from to find the cheapest flights, and I kept asking her if she would be my personal travel agent! Then out of nowhere we came up with the idea to go Acapulco this weekend, so that is where I will be. We leave tonight and we are taking a bus overnight (to save on hotels) to Acapulco and we will come back on Sunday. I think it will be a nice way to spend my birthday.

Today, I just went to classes again and had lunch and spent some time just sitting out on the patio with a couple of people on the trip. It really is quite nice to just sit outside and relax. The pace is much slower here and I never really feel hurried of that concerned with time. Then I came home and sat and watched a mexican soap opera with my sister and now I am just packing and getting ready to leave. I hope you all have a great weekend and I will update you all on Acapulco when I return and I will put up some pictures.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0481s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb