One Tenth


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Tlacolula
February 13th 2011
Published: February 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I am currently reading the One Year NLT Bible on my Kobo e-reader (which I was very nicely given by some FANTASTIC friends at Christmas time…thanks Amber, Jaco and Susan. I love it!). Through this version, the entire Bible has been split up into 365 days; thus, my plan is to read it all in the time that I am here. According to my Kobo, as of today, I have read 10% of my Bible…which also means that we are 10% through the year! It’s weird to think of it like that. We are 1/10th through the year AND have already passed our 1 month mark since our arrival in Oaxaca on January 6th. I can hardly believe that we have been here for 5 weeks...FIVE WEEKS! And yet, it’s starting to feel a little like home. Yes, the children have definitely warmed up to us and recognize our faces and names. Yes, we have been added to dish washing duty, school pick-up duty (well, Jess has. I will be as soon as I learn to drive stick), cleaning duty, nursery duty, and other schedules and responsibilities. Yes, the staff is seeing us more as ‘one of them’. Yes, we braved trying street food at the Tlacolula Market. Yes, my things have become organized chaos. Yes, this is home – at least for the next 45 weeks.

If I could summarize my experiences here in the past 2 weeks in one word, I would use…

Exhausting


Seriously though, I am tired all the time! I don’t remember the last time my regular bed time was 10:30ish. I’m a midnight kind of girl…so this ‘tired-at-ten’ thing is new to me. Given, I have been kept busy trying to manage a work group and getting up early for 7AM breakfast most days. Also, learning a different language and trying to understand as most people are speaking Spanish is very mentally exhausting.



Bible Verse of the Week(s)


“Keep on loving each other as brothers. Do not forget to entertain strangers, for by so doing some people have entertained angels without knowing it. Remember those in prison as if you were their fellow prisoners, and those who are mistreated as if you yourselves were suffering…Keep your lives free from the love of money and be content with what you have, because God has said, “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.” Hebrews 13:1-3, 5

I chose this bible verse as it really relates to what I have dealt wit this week. First off, although I am fairly certain that none of them were angels, I had to entertain my first group here at Casa Hogar. I think KBC was a really great group to start off with as I knew most of the members coming, but it also showed me that working as groups coordinator is not going to be easy. In fact, I have discovered that it is actually one of the least coveted positions here at the home. It’s challenging to keep the teams occupied with work, as well as keep them happy and entertained and, at the same time, remember that although this is work for me, this trip can be spiritually life-changing for the people who come. It is so important to make sure that groups have the best possible experience. Secondly, this week I went to a prison in Oaxaca to meet and worship with a bunch of the men there. It was a really eye opening experience as we saw men express their love for the LORD despite criticism and mocking they were receiving from other inmates. The prisoners were so welcoming and happy to have us there; and I had to keep reminding myself that, despite the horrible things they have done in their past to get them into prison, these were men that God loves just the same as he loves any other sinful person. Third, “those that have been mistreated” can definitely be used when thinking of the children here at the home. The kids are so appreciative and loving yet have already experienced so much hardship, abuse and trials. I am also being taught a lot about money and materialism here. Sometimes you just have to let go and remember that God is in control – even of your finances.



Highlights of the Week(s)


For further details on some of my highlights, please read my previous blog entry named “Prison Break”. This goes into more detail from our prison and hospital visits this week. Otherwise, here are some other things I enjoyed during weeks 4 &5 in Oaxaca;


*For the first time, Jess and I took a Saturday off and spent some time relaxing and soaking up the sun! It was really nice to do absolutely nothing for an afternoon and just read a book outside. I was a little pink after but it was definitely worth it!
*February 1 – we had our first BIG group of 2011 visit the home! I also received a package from my parents and Patrick in Canada which was very appreciated.
*February 5 – On weekends, we like to take a break from working. So, Jess and I took the KBC team out to do touristy stuff. We visited Monte Alban, the Zocalo (Oaxaca City Center), a Birthing Center in Oaxaca, and El Tule (to have dinner and see the HUGE tree).
*Jess and I have been to the zocalo a few times now, so we decided to sit and have a coffee as we waited for the team to enjoy their time shopping. While we were chatting, a boy approached us. He looked all cute and shy-like and (in Spanish of course) asked if we spoke Spanish. We responded that we spoke a very little. He then went on to ask us if he could take our picture. I assumed that he had seen that we looked liked tourists and wanted money to take a photo with our own camera. Jess wasn't quite sure what he was expecting but thought that he kept reaching into his pocket; so, Jess asked why he wanted to take our photo. His response was "because you are both so beautiful." What a great way to make a girl feel special!!
*February 6 – On Sunday, we took the team into the Tlacolula Market. It’s crazy how every time we go, it feels as though I discover something new. I think I’m started to get a feel for the town though so I know how to get my way around.
*February 7 – On Monday, the team let the house parents loose for the night and gave them some time off (which was very much appreciated by all!). Some of the KBC women had a fantastic idea to go manicures and pedicures on all the girls. The girls LOVED to have their hands massages and fingers painted…but preferred if the women stay away from their feet. All the better for me though! Since the girls didn’t want to, Jess and I both got to have very nice foot massages (thanks Sandy!)
*February 9 – On Wednesday, we visited the Prison in the early evening and then came home to a nicely prepared meal done by the youth at the home. The youth wanted to show the team all the things they were doing in the area in terms of youth events to reach out to other Christians and other outreach events. They made us all tacos and showed us a slide show and a video. It was really great to see how the impact that people have on the home here, also impacts the surrounding area!




This Weeks Prayer Requests


1. Funding for needed projects at the Oaxaca home, including the need for more staff housing, driveway roads to be paved, and a school to be built on our property.
2. We are still in need of a little girls house mother.
3. The men in the prison – that their courage to stand up for what they believe in will draw others to their cause; that they can continue to ignore the ridicule they receive.
4. Another group from Canada arrives on February 18 and will be staying for 1 week. Pray that their lives will be touched and their time spent here will go well.
5. Spanish lessons have started!
6. Pedro – He is one of the kids here at the home who can really use some prayer. He recently turned 18 which means a lot more responsibility. In fact, he had a seizure in December which is believed to have been caused by stress.
7. Kayla – She just underwent surgery after her appendix burst. She seems to be doing exceptionally better but is still unable to hold her own baby.
8. The overall health at the home – everyone seems to be getting sick!




Today I leave you with a quote from the wise Doctor Seuss:
“be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.”

45 weeks to go!




Advertisement



22nd February 2011

Hey! LOVE the pictures :) Keep these coming! 10% means only 90% till I get my Leah back!

Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb