So much to learn....so little time.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Tlacolula
January 29th 2011
Published: February 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

SunsetSunsetSunset

It almost looks as though the sky is on fire.
This blog entry, although not posted until February 6, was meant to be up over a week ago. I sat down at the end of a long day last weekend and spent 2 hours putting together my thoughts and memories for the previous two weeks only to have everything disappear when I was trying to save! I have learned my lesson though: The Internet is not reliable. Ever. So, here goes my attempt at re-writing last week’s weekly update for you 😊 Enjoy!

These past two weeks have been extremely busy! However, it really feels as though Jess and I are started to get settled here at the home and used to our lives in Oaxaca. If I could summarize my experiences here I would have to say….

Educational



A lot has been learned as we throw ourselves into life in Mexico! For instance: watch out for the red light district in Oaxaca (see previous entry); public transit is FANTASTIC and CHEAP! (Only 14 pesos to bus into Oaxaca – this is about $1.25 Canadian for a 45 minute bus ride); children from all over the world can be naughty (they may seem like innocent children…but wait until
Full moonFull moonFull moon

As the sky lit up to the east, a full moon rose to the west.
you see what they are REALLY like); but at the same time, these children have the most pure and loving souls (most of the children here have been abandoned or abused by their families, or their parents could just not take care of them to some reason, but when asked what they would like people to pray for, most children responded that they want you to pray for their families’ health and safety); great people come from Canada (this speaks for itself); leading teams isn’t that bad! Yet…(we had our first team come to visit for 3 days; mind you, it was a small team of 3 women so fairly easy to work with, but a great team all the same!); FFHM was founded by an extremely inspiring woman (Charla is incredible. We met her and other members of the board members as they stopped by the home for a few days); It is not easy to learn a new language (I am learning Spanish….slowly); And bunk beds - although great to use as a clothing line for items that you do not wish to be seen by others - are NOT kind to the noggin (as you may have guessed, Jess and I each sleep in a bunk bed…and have each hit out heads numerous times!). However, I think the most important thing I have learned so far is that whenever I feel like I don’t have the strength to do something – whether I am struggling with speaking to the children or the locals, or am looking to feel accepted at the home – I know that God is in control.



Bible Verse of the Week(s)


“but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.” Isaiah 40:31

Highlights of the Week(s)


So much has happened in Weeks 2 and 3 here in Oaxaca, but here are a few of the event that have stood out:

*On our second Saturday here, Jess and I felt the desire to stretch our legs a little and get out to see the city! If you have read my previous blog entry, you would know the adventure that this became. In the end, however, it was a great time for the both of us. AND we
FUTBAL!FUTBAL!FUTBAL!

Nick taking it away...
now know how to both bus and taxi to/from Oaxaca city.
*January 19 – we had our first group of 2011 visit the home! The groups consisted of 3 girls – 2 nurses from Alberta, and 1 computer somethingerother from Maryland – and they were absolutely amazing. The girls were so gracious and willing to help out in any way that they could; so, we had them do some cleaning, gardening, organizing, anything we could think of. I don’t think I could have asked for a more pleasant team to test out my group coordinating on!
*January 20 - Charla, the founder of FFHM and other members of the FFHM board of directors came for a visit. I really appreciated the time to meet and speak to the woman ‘who started it all’. As I mentioned before, Charla is so inspiring. It was neat to be able to learn more about the history of the organization and her work in Mexico. I also greatly enjoyed spending time with Peter, Chuck, and Janice, who were the other board members that joined her in the trip. They were so kind to us and took Jess and I out to dinner in El
MuchachosMuchachosMuchachos

Those of us watching the futbal game...
Tule after we picked them up from the airport.
*While in El Tule, Charla insisted that she show us the BIG tree. It is a national monument as it is one of the largest trees in the world…and let me tell you, that tree just kept going and going and going (like the energizer bunny). I can’t say for certain, but I think about 50 people could stand around its trunk. It was quite the spectacle…and we didn’t even see it in daylight.
*January 22 – Charla and co. had taken the weekend to go visit the foundations mission in Chiapas (the state south of Oaxaca) so Jess and I were invited to spend Saturday shopping with Ian and Elaine. Elaine invited us to have breakfast with them (the best French toast I’ve had in a month; and it was served with REAL CANADIAN MAPLE SYROP!) Afterwards, we went to San Bartolo to go shopping for black pottery to put in the Tienda (gift shop) here at the home. I LOVE pottery, I LOVE shopping and I LOVE Ian and Elaine…the combination of the three made for one of the best afternoons Jess and I have experienced yet. Ian and Elaine have been so welcoming to us here
*January 23 – On Sunday, Jess and I experienced the Tlacolula Market. The market is, for lack of a better work, crazy. To truly understand the culture there, imagine this: tons of streets blocked off, 100’s of locals with their merchandise set up under tarps that are strung between posts, and even more people rushing around trying to buy their weekly vegetables, coffee, honey (with bees still in it – you can’t get more fresh then than!) and live chickens to boot. After the market, Jess and I joined a group of the older kids here to play futbal (soccer) at a nearby field. It was great to spend some time getting to know the kids here…and getting to know the mosquitoes. I received 23 bites that night. Ouch!
*My final highlight for the week comes through a story that Chuck shared with me that I would now like to relay to you. I know that some people back at home have been worried about our safety here while driving, walking around in the city, etc. but this story reminded me that there really is no need to worry. I don’t recall exactly as Chuck told it to me, but I hope you enjoy it anyway:

A little while a go, there was a girl working in the home in Oaxaca. She was very fair skinned, blue eyed, blonde hair (like Jess and I) so would get honked at and cat-called a lot. This happens a lot here to most attractive women but more so to Caucasians as we are different (guys don’t DO anything they just call and whistle at you - you get used to it pretty quickly). Anyways, so this girl noticed that it happened ALL the time when she was with other girls from the home or even boys but it NEVER happened while she was alone. She could never figure out why the guys would leave her alone when she wasn't with anyone. One day, she was waiting in the van for 2 older girls (muchachas) from the home that she was picking up downtown. Like always, she was alone but did not get any attention from anyone. When the 2 muchachas got to the van, they began asking her who the men were that were sitting with her. The girl was confused and said that there was no one with her in the car. But the muchachas responded saying that they were certain that there were 2 BIG men sitting in the back of the van. They were adamant they saw people! ...Angels were with the girl that day and every day she was alone. We are never alone. God has everything under control.



This Weeks Prayer Requests


1. Funding for needed projects at the Oaxaca home, including the need for more staff housing, driveway roads to be paved, and a school to be built on our property.
2. The wall around the facility is looking great! We are currently building the wall to protect the home from wild dogs, as well as from floods during the rainy season. Please pray that the rest goes up swiftly, and that the men working on it do not tire too much during the hot days.
3. We are still in need to a house mother for the little girls. The girls need someone special who can help them with their homework, and just show them that they are loved. Currently, some of the older girls and staff members have been sharing this role, but the girls need someone who will give them more attention.
4. The first BIG group (of 10 people) plus another 2 couples will be arriving at the home soon. This will be my first real test as group coordinator.
5. I am still having trouble with my Spanish. Please pray that Jess and I are both able to pick up the language quickly so that we can better interact with the children, staff, and locals.
6. We had a meeting about the foundations expectations of how we drive in Mexico. I was forced to be apart of this meeting which means they are going to make me start driving. Ack! Jess has been tackling this one well while I have been watching nervously from the sidelines….



Today, I would like to leave you with a little thought that Charla told Jess and I on our last evening together. This simple phrase touched both Jess and I and I hope it can speak to you in the same way. It reminds me that we are SO blessed in Canada and that sometimes…“The best thing we can do is to live more simply…so others can simply live.”


47 weeks to go!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0408s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb