and so it starts....


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Tlacolula
January 14th 2011
Published: January 15th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Looking back at the Visitors CenterLooking back at the Visitors CenterLooking back at the Visitors Center

If you look really closely you can see the Visitors Center in the far right(ish) corner. This is where Jess and I are living. We are also taking care of the center and making sure it is prepared for teams.
One week has passed bringing much excitement (and stress) - you can read Jess's blog here for more details from the first few days. Can I say the trip has officially begun!? If I could summarize the week in one word it would have to be.....

overwhelming

Yes, definitely overwhelming. Between being thrown into a home where I can't communicate with the majority of the residents, to being asked to drive in a foreign country with unforgiving drivers, to sitting through a four and a half hour church service completely in spanish, I think that feeling a little overwhelmed is very justified. I would say my biggest struggle right now is the language barrier. I am having a really hard time communicating with both the staff and the children and am finding it extremely frustrating. I have realized that I retained very little from the spanish class I took so I am having to learn a complete language starting with nothing. Jess, although also struggling, had a little more spanish to use from a University course and so it feels like she is much more advanced then I am. She is doing a great job at just throwing herself in there and practicing with
Jess!Jess!Jess!

Jess on Friday, January 7. Note that there is NO SNOW! it's nice to get away from Canada's winter.
the children. Jess has also been brave enough to try driving by herself in Tlacalula - I planted myself in the passenger seat and have refused to drive. If you could see the craziness on the roads then you would more then understand my fear. No, I would say that I am more petrified than just fearful to try driving.

With all of that said, it has been a comfort to know that God is with Jess and I and has a plan for the both of us while we are here. I know that he will give me strength to do what needs to be done and that He won't expect me to do anything that He knows I can't handle. There is no need to worry because God has it covered! Thus, my bible verse for the week....



Bible Verse of the Week


"Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? ...Therefore, do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day
Inner Court yardInner Court yardInner Court yard

The blue thing is a water fountain in the middle of the courtyard. The girls (ninas) dorms are on the right and the boys (ninos) are on the left. The kitchen and dinning hall are at the back.
has enough trouble of its own." Matthew 6:25,34


Highlights of the Week


Rather than give a detailed description of everything that has been going on, I have decided to give you the biggest things that stand out to me. This week has mostly been us adjusting to life here and getting over the shock of being away from family, friends (and boyfriend). I miss you all so very much and would love for EVERYONE to come visit...I do take care of the visitors center after all 😊 So, as promised, here are my highlights from the week (brought to you by the letter uno):

• Receiving our luggage Friday evening (one day after we arrived) and changing into clean clothes!

• Cleaning out the washroom so we can actually feel comfortable using it. - apparently Mexican cleanliness is at a different standard than Canadian.

• Finishing cleaning the ENTIRE visitors center. I definitely felt accomplished and as though I was doing something useful at the home. (it's part of my job description as group coordinator to keep the visitor center clean and organized for teams that come to work at the home)

• Having my first warm shower
What a viewWhat a viewWhat a view

This is what we see every morning as we walk out of the visitors center. God's design is just beautiful.
on Monday!

• Experiencing our first Mexican Church service...even though the spanish pastor talked for 2 hours...Their music is done with so much energy and passion here!

• Being dragged into the ninas (little girls) dorm and meeting the chicas. a bunch of the little girls are so patient with my lack of understanding. We like to make faces at eachother instead.

• Relaxing for the first time since I started university/work. It has been so nice to let the pressure of life in Canada go away and just relax and do God's work. Jess and I have been so exhausted and I think a lot of that is due to us letting go of a lot of our old stressors. It could also have soemthing to do with the fact that we are in the mountains at about 5000 feet elevation.

• Finding framed pictures on the wall from the first KBC team that was here 5 years ago. Seeing these photos made Jess and I smile and feel connected to previous teams that we have known to be here. We are really looking forward to seeing some familiar faces in February!!

• Making it home alive after Jess and I ventered into Tlacalula alone for the first time. I know Jess is going into detail about this in her blog. All I will say is that it wa terrifying and I have never prayed so much while sitting in a car.

Speaking about terrifying car rides...it would be encouraging to know there are a few things that people are praying for us back at home...


This weeks prayer list






So, my thoughts to leave you with today are: Love life. Drink milk. And never stop yourself from experiencing and enjoying the little things.

49 more weeks to go!



Advertisement



Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1006s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb