Our First Break from school! Puerto Escondido


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Puerto Escondido
February 5th 2008
Published: February 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

First day there!First day there!First day there!

Here are all the girls on the top of some beach look out point, Luis took the pi!
PUERTO ESCONDIDO! one of the surf capitals of the world! although I was terrified to surf these waves, I was in awe of the beauty of this place. The sunsets (atardecer) were some of the most beautiful I have ever seen. Because Puerto is a small town with zero high rise hotels etc. there is a clear view of the horizon. Nishi, Tal, Nicole, Danielle, Luis and I all endured the 16 hour bus ride (each way!) It actually wasn't bad at all! I have the amazing ability to sleep anywhere so I slept for about 10 hours each way. The ride was all through the state of Oaxaca (pronounced Wa-ha-ka) which is filled with jungles and indigenous villiages and a lot of really cool sites) It was really awesome! We got there around 2:30 pm of Friday after traveling through the night and morning and we found some cabanas right by the beach (no one stays in hotels here, its all about the cabanas) we all stayed in this room with a loft and just kind of shared beds, it was great and cheap! The seafood was delicious of course! and the beach was to die for! Because Luis is
ShopShopShop

The state of Oaxaca, where Puerto Escondido is, is known for beautiful colors and crafts
from Acapulco, he knows the ocean very well and took us the a part where we could swim without needing to be rescued by a lifegaurd! Watching the surfers on the other parts of the beach was really cool though! We heard languages from ALL over the world! There were many Italians there because some years ago a, Italian movie called "Puerto Escondido" came out and there was a surge in Italian Tourism, in fact many of them have moved there to live and I had some of the best Pizza ever there in an authentic Italian restaurant! I also met some Italians and after trying desperately to saying something, anything in Italian, we resulted to our common language, Spanish haha. Very cool though!
Also, did everyone see the big game!! What a game!! I posted a picture of us all in a beach bar, in our bathing suits with basically every American in the town watching the game! It was soooo fun! Well I was a lil bored in the middle, so Tal and I went out to watch the sunset, but I am sure glad I didnt miss the last 5 minutes! The girl sitting next to us
Eating ShrimpEating ShrimpEating Shrimp

Here we are, at a restaurant on the beach while Luis teaches me how to completely shell a shrimp, it was son delicious! (after the 10 minutes it took to take off all the stuff)
was from us was being roudy and halarious and was rooting for the Giants(like us) and I got to talking to her and she was from South Philly!! What are the chances! I will never ever forget that experience!!
We are now back safe and sound in Puebla, we arrived just one hour before we all had class, but we made it and my teacher applauded me for making it to class.
So basically Puerto Escondido is a must see for any serious Mexico traveler! I was so lucky to be able to experience this! Thank you to my parents for always helping me, as I take my vacations on vacation!!




Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

SunsetSunset
Sunset

Here is a breathtaking Pacific Sunset, I have never seen anything like this, so clear
Hot Dogs!Hot Dogs!
Hot Dogs!

We Americans found a hot dog place, and went back everyday!
Sunday MorningSunday Morning
Sunday Morning

Tal and I took a long walk all through Puerto Escondido on Sunday, it was so beautiful
The CrewThe Crew
The Crew

Here we are relaxin on the beach
Super BowlSuper Bowl
Super Bowl

I will NEVER forget that great Super Bowl at the beach bar, so cool!
Super Bowl SunsetSuper Bowl Sunset
Super Bowl Sunset

Tal and I got a little bored in the middle of the game and went to watch the sunset (football isn't my favorite thing in the world)
Cloudy SunsatCloudy Sunsat
Cloudy Sunsat

This is one of my better pictures, although it was cloudy, the sunset looked so awesome
CabanasCabanas
Cabanas

Here are the Cabanas where we stayed, it's kind of what you do in Puerto Escondido, Hotels are for gringo tourists, haha
The BeachThe Beach
The Beach

Here is a good shot of part of the town with the beach


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0378s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb