Vegetable Soup


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
October 19th 2006
Published: October 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I had no intention of trecking all over the place today, not having slept well: dogs and sheep and fireworks and all. But then off I went in search of a public sculpture I had seen on the way in from the airport. I was lost, mostly, thinking "one more block or two." No map. Meandering. Discovered an aquaduct and ran into my first blocade. A wrecker was removing a graffiti ladened bus from blocking the street. There were also sandbags piled up and lots of wire of all sorts. Large groups of people. Quite tense. Then I ran into four more blockades, intact with banners and posters. People waiting and watching. I did at last find the sculpture: the bust of an Indian woman, who no one could identify and with no plack (but anti-Ruiz slogans spray painted on it), situated on a pointed arch of cement under another larger of the same.
When the adventure hits, you just keep walking. Found a great park and had a three course meal for $6, at 3 o'clock. The soup of the day was vegetable. It was delicious, with large chunks of chicken! Followed by a rich flan. The walk back was a killer - no I didn't take the easier, longer route, and dropped when I finally made it. Lying on the bed, I got the first wiff of copal in the air, inviting the dead to return.

Advertisement



19th October 2006

Hello!
Hank, great journaling thus far, hope to hear much more about your experiences in the "cultural capitol of Mexico" very soon! - Brian.
19th October 2006

Hi Hank keep blogging... I've just back to Colchester from the West Bank. Am feeling a bit shell shocked and exhausted. Is Tim not with you? Keep safe and well, and the walk up the hill will get easier the more times you do it! Love to both - Nicola xx

Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb