Oaxaca with Donzetta - airport fiasco


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
May 30th 2012
Published: May 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Mi Intercambio: An Aztec quien habla NauhtlMi Intercambio: An Aztec quien habla NauhtlMi Intercambio: An Aztec quien habla Nauhtl

Serafin: Born & raised in Vera Cruz Attended UNAM in psychology Speaks: Nauhtl (language of Aztecs, Spanish & English
Well, the unimaginable happened this morning. My flight was canceled. It seems there was bad weather in Houston and the plane did not come in last night. There was a possibility of getting a seat on Aero-Mexico through Mexico City...Uuugghh! But that possibility disappeared when they found out an Aero-Mexico flight was also canceled due to bad weather. The only sure flight out for me was on friday. I did not even want to contemplate trying to get a flight to Mx. City and then trying to get out of Mx. City. The counter agent agreed that it might be a nightmare. So I paid another taxi to take me back to the posada and to ask for a room for an additional 2 nights. I did not get the huge room with 2 double beds again. They had already started renovations in it. But I did get the only room with internet access. I don't have to go to the common area to get access. I think there is good in everything, if you look for it. My new flight is for friday at 7:45 am. I'm thinking positive!!

I also got a chance today to go to my
La Clase de CocinaLa Clase de CocinaLa Clase de Cocina

This is the full cooking class. Some backs are turned so I am inclucing another picture.
favorite noon-time restaurant, QuinQue, where they gave me an additional special, shredded chicken in a tortilla with chocolate mole sauce. This is a traditional oaxaquenean dish that I had not tried. The chef is wonderful and does such a great presentation with entre, rice and salad on a platter. I had actually ordered agri-dulce, which is actually sweet and sour pork (agri-sour,dulce-sweet). I got all for the price of one low priced special and the chocolate mole was "muy rica" (the highest compliment that you can give to a cook here).

After that I went to the pasteleria (pastry/sweet shop) to buy my self some of the wonderful cookies that I got on monday as a thank you gift for the staff, my maestras and my intercambio at the school but failed to get for myself. After I made my purchase they called me back and gave me a extra wonderful custard desert. I hope it continues to get better and better during this additional time.

I do plan to go to La Bisnaga tonight or tomorrow. They have the most marvelous food, though a bit more expensive. I now get the opportunity to treat myself, since I
Tres de mis Amigas FavoritasTres de mis Amigas FavoritasTres de mis Amigas Favoritas

These are 3 of my favorites: Elaine - California; Vicky - Maestra; Amy - Washington, currently, Puerto Escondido, MX
have the additional time.

Well, enough of the chat. I have to check my photos to see if I have any more uploaded in my computer that I have not shared with you. I don't have the where-with-all to go back to Sams to see if they can help me with my camera to upload current photos. Monday did me in so I am going to wait until I get home to see if customer service is better in Tulsa than here. Also I thought I was conversing pretty well in spanish until I went there. I don't think my ego can take another encounter, not to mention the autobuses and the walking when you don't get the right bus........

I found the pictures of my last class. This was truly a class of advanced spanish language speakers, especially Jorge (George) who taught English at Univ. of Kan. to teachers of English from foreign countries. He is an 83 year old widower who has been to 17 different Latin country spanish schools and recently was featured in an article in The New York Times. Gabriel and Jackie are 3rd year law students at Univ. of Mich. and in
Mi Ultima Clase - C1Mi Ultima Clase - C1Mi Ultima Clase - C1

This is the advanced level class. I am not quite sure why I am there. I guess because I have been here so long.
addition to taking advanced spanish are taking spanish language classes for law students. Lindsey is a volunteer for EnVia who is completing her classes for spanish in the morning and doing her EnVia duties in the afternoon. She plans to live in Oaxaca. I hope all of this spanish language ability rubs off on me.

I hope this is not a duplication of a previous blog entry. I'm also including my intercambio, a psychologist, who I think is pretty extraordinary. And of course the cooking class with 3 of my favorite people. Enjoy, the next installment will be from Tulsa, unless I get a miracle photo upload today...I keep trying.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Mis Companeros de claseMis Companeros de clase
Mis Companeros de clase

Gabriel - Univ Mich Law Sdt; Lindsey - Volunteer/Envia; Jakki - U.M. Law Sdt; Itanduhi - Advanced Maestra; Jorge - Ret. Univ Prof.


30th May 2012
Mis Companeros de clase

Hang in there!
What an adventure you are having. Hope we can get together when you get home. Perhaps some of your travel wisdom will infect me. I have 4 weeks to retirement. I have enjoyed your weekly blog.
31st May 2012
Mis Companeros de clase

It's almost over
Hi Sandra, my adventure is almost over. I was having mixed feelings but I took stock and realized that I have accomplished all that I came here to do and that means it is time to go home. I think the canceled flight allowed me some chill-out time. I have been pushing to get everything done. I hope to see you soon.

Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0682s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb