Snooze buttons beware


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
October 29th 2008
Published: October 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

7:00 am and the alarm rings but I’ve been awake for thirteen minutes. It’s 5:00 am in BC, October 21st. I wonder if the fog is hanging over Victoria, dulling all sound. Only the distant horns of the ships can be heard calling to each other as they slowly trace their routes.

7:04 and the snooze is going off again, then again at 7:08. The house is quiet but my room is slowly filling with light. The snooze again, it’s 7:12. Ok, ok, I roll out of bed, pull up the covers, open the computer and brush my teeth, Check the overnight e-mails. Scrub, scrub, top teeth then bottom, behind the fronts, don’t forget the molars. Is the new episode for my show online yet? Yes! Hurrah, start download, it’ll take all day.

7:31, wash face, pull on teachers clothes. What to do with this hair? 7:40, grab bag and head downstairs for breakfast. “Buenos dias”, “Buenos dias chulla”. Cereal and fruit, fresh cut. I watch the juice press extract every last drop from the oranges and drink down the fresh nectar, letting it coat my throat.

7:51, I step out the door into the sunshine of a cool mountain morning. My nose breathes in the crisp air as I pass Chewy’s. My skin soaks up the cold air and I’m glad I grabbed a sweater.

8:01, at school and the class is already writing down the day.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 60; dbt: 0.0721s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb