Week one, almost done


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Oaxaca » Oaxaca
July 14th 2005
Published: July 14th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Well, I am almost finished with my first week of classes. Just thought I´d put on a quick update to let everyone know how things are going.
First off, thanks Daveed, for my first comment on the blog! I didn´t realize that I had a comment waiting to accept, so that´s why it wasn´t up there. I guess one of my enemies could write a comment on there that I don´t want published.

Anyhoo, things are starting to feel normal for me. I have settled into a routine with my family. They are very nice to me, and make an effort to speak to me a lot so that I can practice my spanish and also make me feel welcome. Of course, I continue to speak in the wrong tense, wrong person, wrong gender. But, I´m learning some new words, and hopefully soon, it will get better.

I had somewhat of a breakdown in the airline office yesterday bc a bank wouldn´t accept my travellers checks bc my signature was different from my passport which I signed five years ago. It was frightening bc the checks were signed and I didn´t know what I uwas going to do with them. But, in the end, a casa de cambio took them, so eveything is okay now.

I have made a few friends in my school. I went out on Tuesday and had a good time. We heard a hippie mexican afrobeat band playing on the street at the end of the night, so we hung out there for a while. Good times. Tonight I want to go out to the Salsa club to practice my steps, although I have a feeling that the Mexicans will be laughing at me. What can you do?

Tomorrow I will head for either the beach or the mountains depending on Erica and her friend Radie. Monday is the Guelageutza. I don´t know much about it except that it is a big festival that happen in Oaxaca every year, and tons of tourists and Oaxacans come for the festival. I plan to try to get the free seats, but apparently you have to get there around 6am, or you won´t be able to see anything. I´ll report back once i have seen it. I will take some pictures, but i´m guessing that without my good lens, i won´t be able to get much. This will be one of those times when i´ll be kicking myself for not bringing my SLR. Well, what can you do.

Besos a todos. Si quieren, ustedes puedan escribarme en espanol, es buen practica para mi.
Tengo que ir a mi clase de salsa.
Dina

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb