Layin' low


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nuevo Leon » Monterrey
October 14th 2006
Published: October 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well everyone,

Writing once again from my home here in Monterrey, Físicos 380 (interior). The past few weekends have been somewhat low-key, which is really nice.

I completed my 2nd (and longest) internship paper this past week, I've been learning about Mexican culture and politics, I've surveyed more foreign visitors at the Museum, and I am now a Spanish compound sentence expert! I've said this before: time is seriously whipping by.

Reality check:
I've been here for 3.5 months!! Where did the time go?! This coming week begins our 11th week of classes, which end November 17. Finals occur the two weeks that follow. And then I've got some time set aside to either lay low in Monterrey or maybe explore another part of Mexico.

I came here wanting to see and do everything imaginable in Mexico. I've accepted the fact that I won't be able to explore the almost 760,000 sq. mi. of the country in my short time here. But I have my whole life to come back and explore the Pacific Coast, Yucatan, Chiapas, Oaxaca-- or whichever places I don't get to see this winter!!

Many of you already know this, but I'll say it again...

I have accepted an AmeriCorps VISTA position beginning this coming January! I will be working as Community Education & Outreach Coordinator with a partner organization of United Way in Provo, Utah. I will be connecting low-income families, many which are recent immigrants and/or Spanish speakers, to education opportunities as well as helping expand the educational programs already available to them. It's a year commitment, so I'll be there until at least January 2008... and then we'll see where this takes me!! I never ever thought I'd be going to... Utah? But I'm sure this is where I need to be next year.

Check out the VISTA website if you get a chance. It's pretty amazing: AmeriCorps VISTA

If anyone is in the Provo area after January '07, give me a jingle! It's been interesting jobsearching from A DIFFERENT COUNTRY, but like I've always believed-- or try to believe... things happen how they're meant to happen. One day I was browsing the AmeriCorps website and thinking about applying, what seemed like 2 seconds later I had a phone interview, and within a week I had a job offer. I even got to pick which of the two open positions I'd like!

How is everyone else doing? Update me, please!!!

Okay... it's time to get ready for the day. The Tigres and Rayados (two Monterrey futbol-- soccer-- teams) are playing. The stadium is right next to the campus, and apparently it is going to be crrrrazzzzyyy today!! Luckily I'm just going to a local bar with some friends to watch the game, which should still be interesting.

Hope you're all doing well! Peace!

Advertisement



16th October 2006

morman state
watch out for the crazy in mormans in utah.. but utah is near colorado! so who knows maybe someday i'll have to road trip on like my way to vegas or something!
16th October 2006

Congrats!
Hello Kathleen, Congratulations on the job! I am so happy you are having such a great experience.
26th October 2006

OH! To be in our twentys again
We Enjoyed blog, great writing.

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 68; dbt: 0.1182s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb