Hey I'm Still Alive


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Nayarit » Xalisco
February 8th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Dani y PapaDani y PapaDani y Papa

My new host father and sister eating fish...gross!
¡¡¡o0ºo0ºo0oºolasssss!!! (translation: hola or hello hahaha),
How is everyone? I hope good! Sorry I haven't written in awhile.
I've been busy! heheheheh Well I will catch you up now.

New Family


I changed host families. I didn't want to but its a rule. 😞
Fortunately, I have a really nice new host family. Yesterday I completed one month with them. The beginning was a little difficult because the first girl who was there was still there for like a week. It is just akward when you are trying to get to know the family and she is there still calling the mamá y papí. It was only a week though so it wasn't too bad.
My new parents are Lupita and Raúl. Lupita works in a government office and Raul is a college teacher. They are so cariñosos, especially Lupita. Cariño is like warm and loving. Lupita loves hugging. Raul is really nice. He always tells me how smart I am!
I have to new sister also. Daniela is 12. She is a normal teenage and pretty quiet and sometimes moody. I don't know her that well, but I don't get the feeling she is overly thrilled I am in
Los PrimosLos PrimosLos Primos

All my cousins on Día de la virgen de candalabra!
her house. Then there is Jenni. She is 6 today. She is super cute and super sweet. She is really energetic and loves playing with me. She definitely has taken to me.
The new parents are a lot stricter than my first family though. I can only go out one time a week afterschool or on the weekend in the afternoon. I am not aloud to go on the internet a lot or watch a lot of tv. They are very opionated. I can definitely feel the difference between my first and second family. My first didn't care what I did. These ones worry more, but I like it. It feels more like home.

What I've Been Up To...


Well not to much. My first weekend with this family was the Linda's birthday, so we had a party. I got to meet the family which was nice. The next weekend we went to a wedding. The daughter of my family's house keeper got married. And after that a baby shower. They aren't that different from the ones in the USA. I had fun though and got really into it. I played some games and even one some prizes.
Mi Mama y Mis HermanasMi Mama y Mis HermanasMi Mama y Mis Hermanas

My mama, Lupita, and my sisters, Jenni and Danni, before a wedding we went too.
The following weekend I went to a Piñata with Jenni. After that weekend we went to a horse show. I ate some bad tacos and got food poisoning. I was super sick. Last weekend I went to Burger King and the movies with Jenni. There was also a holiday called Día de la virgen de candalabra which is pretty much just an excuse to get the family together to eat tomales, a really good mexican food. On Monday I went to a rotary meeting. Zeynep, my friend from Turkey, presented her country. It was also so the interact and roteract clubs could get to know the exchange student. Other than that nothing is different. I go to school and I go home. I mean a few small things, like I have four new classmates and two new exchange students came from brazil. A boy, who is in my school, and a girl who is in university. I sent a package to my mom. I joined a gym like 2 weeks ago and now go daily. I put myself on a diet. I actually have lost 20 lbs in my time in Mexico. I am really proud of myself 😊 but i still want to lose like another 15-20.

Sooooo, that is pretty much what you have missed this month. My new parents are strict about internet, but I will try and update more from school.

Los Quiero y Los Extraño Mucho!! (I love and miss you guys a lot!)
Shayna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb