Descansooooo!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Miacatlán
August 15th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Alright well I sound like a broken record but the internet in Miacatlan has been a pain but right now I’m in Cuernavaca for my descanso (weekend break) and it’s all the internet I could possibly want so I plan on calling people this weekend and putting up more pictures. Moving along from the constant internet issue, today was a sad day for NPH as our fearless leader and resident “Papa”, Chris Hoyt left after being here for three years. We had about 5 different parties in the house throughout the week (including one I threw in kinder) and it was a ton of fun but it’s definitely sad to see him go. I know when I leave I’ll be a wreck, but he was pretty strong. These kids just love us so much. I think I finally got homesick yesterday when I was reading about my sisters start to high school in a message she sent me (shout out to Jen Jen- keep the updates coming) and then thinking about how I won’t be there to see some big events in her life this year (graduation, senior prom, senior year events, her first job).

We start school on Monday and I’m pretty excited about that. My schedule is going to change a lot and I’m going to be getting my own team of children. I’m going to be taking care of the Kinder aged Milpias kids who they bring here every morning and feed, give them a uniform, and a shower and then they go to school with us. They live near by in a trash dump with their families but because they have families they don’t live here full time. I’m pretty excited about having some new kids. We also just got two new social workers so the new kids who are going to live here should be rolling in soon. Right now in Kinder we have room for about 45 kids and we only have 7. We also have 5 adults working in the section and again 7 kids so as you probably guessed they are gearing up for an influx. I’m stoked.
There is one really funny thing I forgot to tell all of you about my current living situation and I think it’s because I try to not think about it but my bed is way to short for me. It’s quite comical to see me sleeping in it. My legs stick out through the bars from about mid calf down. There is a guy here who is almost 7 feet tall and they had to construct him a special bed but it took awhile so he too had to battle. I don’t really have a problem sleeping as I’ve resorted back to the fetal position which is probably better for my back anyways- but when I do sleep on my stomach it’s pretty funny looking.

Things are really going well and I love my section and my job. The other volunteers are great and we have a lot of fun when we aren’t working. I feel like I’m finally settled and I know my way around town really well now. And of course my Spanish is like nothing it’s ever been before- but I have a long way to go before I’m fluent. I don’t have any problems communicating- it just takes me a little while and sometimes I have to describe what I’m talking about because I simply don’t know the word. My grammar of course it what I get wrong the most but I feel like that least important- if it isn’t conjugated right they still know what I mean. I hope all is well is with everyone back home and I hope some of you can find the time to shoot me e-mails from time to time. I really enjoy hearing from people back home.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0577s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb