A Bit of an Update with Some Juice (Internet is Starting to Exist a Litle)


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Miacatlán
August 9th 2008
Published: August 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well the internet problems are continuing on but as I’m pretty sure I’ve said before is that I’m just happy we have it all because when I signed up for this gig I wasn’t expecting internet to be here in the house. I’m getting by pretty well though- I just hope none of your feel too neglected. It’s now been about 6 weeks that I’ve been here so I’m really living here. There really isn’t much more I need to adjust too that I’m not already aware of. Here are a few of the weird adjustments I’ve encountered so far:
-cramping associated with periods is excruciating and none of the other girls know why either- it’s very strange and painful- we’re leaning towards an increase in salt in the diet but we have no idea so if you do decide to send me a package if you could include some Midol that’d be great, thanks
-the machismo culture where men are better and stronger at everything- this has only really been a problem when playing sports because they will go as far as knock me over or make me bleed to not let me touch a volleyball
-meat comes on the bones and at first I wouldn’t eat it because I just wasn’t sure what to do with a fish that had been cooked and served to me in it’s entirety (eyes, fins, and all) but I have since figured it out and turns out it’s pretty damn good (we grow tilapia here)- the chicken and pork on the bones wasn’t quite as hard but still weird at first
-there is no wine. period. I miss my wine.
-they give out really cruel nicknames to most the kids here by about the time they reach medianas/medianos level which is about 8-10 years old: this girl is called Ardilla (which means squirrel because well she looks like one) and another boy here is called Stewie (pronounced Estewie) because he has a football head. Some of the kids, like stewie, hate it but most of them have them and it’s just part of NPH life
-the pronunciation of some English words can be one of the most amusing things: spaghetti (espegetti just like Estewie as the Mexicans cannot for the life of them pronounce the “st” no matter how hard they try) and then pizza for some reason has a k in the middle of it “pikza”
-they of course put salsa on EVERYTHING which at times I like and at times I just don’t understand: there is no reason to put salsa on spaghetti or in tomato soup or in alphabet soup but it’s definitely ok to put lime and chile powder on watermelon and mango because it’s amazing (you all need to try this)

Thats all the time I have today. I hope to add some more to this list as I have more to share. Lots of love!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb