The Days are LOOOONG....


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Miacatlán
July 25th 2008
Published: July 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Some of the kids in ChicosSome of the kids in ChicosSome of the kids in Chicos

The red head is Juan Carlos and the other is Ivan. They are acting like monkeys (changos in spanish)!
Man oh man the days are long. I've actually resorted to drinking some coffee in the morning to help me get going which is sad, but seems necessary. All of the other volunteers rely heavily on a cup of joe in the mornings. Last you all heard from me I was sick and luckily it seemed to only be a 24 hour bug. Not bad at all. I finished up the descanso last weekend strong with some shopping (I finally found lactose free milk) and resting up. On Tuesday my section and the 2 sections just older than my section went to El Rollo for a field trip. El Rollo is this amazing waterpark. I love it. This experience was a little different from when I visited before because obviously I was working and that work was with 4 year olds mostly so I wasn't able to ride all of the big kid rides like before- but we had fun nonetheless. One of the kids in my section, Chave, and I hung out for a ood chunk of the day and I got her hooked on the "wave river." I managed to get a nice sunburn again and yes, I put sunscreen on like 3 times. It's just inevitable. I organized my first couple activities for my section which I'll be doing more of and I enjoy doing because they get so excited. I had all of my kids paint a mural for my room. They had a blast and I got to hang up something to cover the ugly wall I sleep next too. It was beneficial to all. Yesterday I went out to town and bought a bunch of water balloons and we had a kind of water afternoon in the kinder playground area. After that I took Chave to the big kids pool because she really wants to learn to swim. I figured I would take a shot at teaching her. I mean how hard can it be? Well, you'll be impressed because by the end of an hour and a half I had her jumping off the side of the pool and then swimming to me without help. It was awesome. One of the directors witnessed this and I've now been asked to teach more of them to swim so thats exciting. I'm starting to find my groove here.
Something really sad happened in the mornng yesterday. One of my kids slammed one of my other kids thumb in a metal gate on accident and this resulted in a mostly severed thumb. There was blood everywhere. They had to take him to the hospital in Mexico City and he won't be back till Monday. They aren't sure if they can save the top of his thumb. I feel so bad for him, but I guess that just part of being a parent.
I took a ton of pictures of the kinder kids in cooking class yesterday and of various other things we were doing throughout the day. There are a lot of them so enjoy. Hopefully you'll start to get a feel for which kid is which. Tomorrow I'm going to give my first tour to a group of visitors which I'm a little nervous about but I'm pretty good at BSing my way through things so I should be fine. I hope all is well back home and a BIG Happy Bithday to Justin and Thomas- I really wish I could have been there guys.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Bello EatingBello Eating
Bello Eating

He denied eating the fruit later and I of course busted out this picture.
Bere Helping the KidsBere Helping the Kids
Bere Helping the Kids

This is one of the year of service kids who works in my section.
Bebe Doing Puzzles Instead of Cutting FruitBebe Doing Puzzles Instead of Cutting Fruit
Bebe Doing Puzzles Instead of Cutting Fruit

Her name is Marisol but she's the baby of the house right now so everyone just calls her Bebe
Bellos Mad FaceBellos Mad Face
Bellos Mad Face

It's so cute!
Chango Juan Eating MangoChango Juan Eating Mango
Chango Juan Eating Mango

I call him Chango (which again means Monkey) because well, he is one.
Making Lime Cookie CakeMaking Lime Cookie Cake
Making Lime Cookie Cake

I have no idea what it was called but it was good- cookies, cake, and lime.
BelloBello
Bello

He couldn't stand the sound of the blender.


29th July 2008

South of the Border
I'm glad to hear that all is going well. It sounds as if the experience is rewarding. I knew that you would get sick sooner or later. Even the most ironest stomache is inevitable. I'll bet that a Big Mac sounds good about now. If not just wait....it will. Anyhow thanks for the updates. I always look forward to reading the new ones. Talk to you later....Tony

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb