Big Tree, Fall Hard


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Miacatlán
July 19th 2008
Published: July 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This is just a quick update for all of you. Yesterday was Day 18 of my time here and yesterday I finally got sick. It was a sad and defeated time for me spent mostly in the bathroom throwing up. I can't quite peg what it was that caused this sickness but I do know that it was food or possibly water inside the house at Miacatlan as I hadn't eaten out in awhile. It's all good though- I appear to be almost back to normal as of this afternoon and I am hoping to stay that way. Despite my sickness I did go see the new Batman movie last night. I mean I couldn't miss it. Yes, they do have movies here in Mexico and yes, they are in english. It was weird because I went with two of the other girls and we all forgot we were in Mexico while watching it. We all stood up and pretty much at the same time declared how weird it felt because it felt like we were at home. I REALLY REALLY enjoyed the movie. I'm sure you're wondering how it is that I was able to go to a movie with all the work I've been doing...well, every other weekend we get whats called a "descanso." That pretty much translates to break or rest. During the summer it starts at 6pm on Friday night and ends Sunday night at 10pm. So at 6pm we caught the bus to Cuernavaca. We then went to see the movie and we are still currently in Cuernavaca taking a break from the kids and Miacatlan. It's pretty nice. Today I slept in a lot as I needed it to fight this sickness and then got up and took a walk down to Wal-Mart. Yeah, they have a Wal-Mart here. It's a lot different than the ones in the US but it's still cheap and relatively easy to find things. I didn't buy much except for lactose free milk and wheat bread which are things you can't get from the kitchen in the house. When I left yesterday I told the volunteers who weren't on descanso that I was going to Wal-Mart and asked if they needed anything and most of them did so I now am going to feel like a pack horse going back to Miacatlan on the bus with all the stuff I bought for them. Well, that's all I have to report from south of the border and I'm sorry I don't have any new pictures for you, but I promise I'll work on it.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0256s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1008.8kb