First few days . . . I can't understand anything!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Morelos » Cuernavaca
July 9th 2008
Published: July 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Estudiando!Estudiando!Estudiando!

A picture of me fake studying, for illustrative purposes only.
I'm resting after walking to my home from a night of "intercambio" - a sort of teachers exchange where our teachers from Omaha meet with teachers from the state of Morelos to help one another with the respective languages we want to learn. However, what I've learned is, "I can't understand anything!"
We arrived in Cuernavaca after taking a bus from the airport in Mexico City to a tiny bus station in our new home city. Each of us sort of milled about the bus station, towing our wheeled-luggage behind us. There was a kind of heightened malaise, if that's possible, because, although we were were all ready to lay our heads down in the comfort of our soon to be new homes, no one was quite sure what we were supposed to do. Finally, someone pointed out the taxis and we all dispersed to find our rides. I looked around, trying to find the taxista who looked like they might speak the most English, although I'm not quite sure what those signs might be.
When trying to speak another language, I find I tend to hesitate before speaking, to make sure the words and grammar and syntax are all in alignment. But the time to do that after the other Spanish-speaking ends his or her sentence is quite short - too short to complete all the construction and conjugation I need to do. So, instead, what comes out is a sort of string of related words, that may or may not be related to the first participant's question and I tend to look away in a sort of attempt to concede that really I am making no sense.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0361s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb