La Casa.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
April 13th 2008
Published: April 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

TzintzutzanTzintzutzanTzintzutzan

On our last excursion, my camera ran out of bateries. Then I bought some for really cheap that ended up not working. But these are what´s left or reconstructed of the pyramids of the local indigenous people. The three small towns we visited were beautiful and very authentic, all built around a high altitude lake (very polluted, but also beautiful).
Just a few more pics of my house here. Things are going really well. We went to the orphanage on Wednesday. Pretty poor, but not sad, because the kids have formed a pretty happy community together. I didn´t get to go inside however, so I don´t know what their rooms and stuff are like. I think we´re going to try and bring games and stuff next time, and maybe try and teach the older girls English, since that´s what they want from us.
I went Salsa dancing the other night until about four in the morning. Super fun, live music, and awesome dancers. I didn´t know anything, but I learned a little of the basic steps. Then we went and watched the lighting of the cathedral that happens every Saturday night. There´s a beautiful firework display right from the street in front of the cathedral, so the sparks actually hit it and light it up, and then they turn the lights on. It´s really beautiful, I´ll try and get pictures next time. We were in a rooftop bar above, get this, a Burger King. But it was great, with couches and a DJ.
The father of my family
La casa.La casa.La casa.

My room.
brought home a little puppy the other day, no more than a month old, and I´ve sort of taken over responsibility for now, since it´s so young and needs to have people around, and they would otherwise keep it outside in the shed. But I can´t sleep anyways when it´s screaming from the shed, so I´m letting it sleep with me. It´s a little sleep situation though, but once it gets older, it will get a little better. He´s pretty cute, but I don´t know it´s name, because the daughter named him something incredibly hard to remember and pronounce. I think for her he´s more of a novelty and she isn´t quite ready for the responsibility. She's a little rougher on him than I would be, and yesterday the three year old boy was running around holding and squeezing him. It´s just a different culture I guess, but I get pretty protective😊
Spanish is getting easier and easier to understand, so I know when the Dad is making fun of me and I can strike back. I´m really enjoying the city too, lots of places to go and stuff to do. Hopefully more Salsa!! Maybe I´ll come back one
La casa.La casa.La casa.

My bedroom window overlooks the garden.
of those ladies who can spin and dip and all that stuff😊
Til next time,
Michelle


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

El Jardín.El Jardín.
El Jardín.

Looking from the back of the house. There is a lemon, orange, peach, and sugar apple tree. Also some herbs and blackberries.
El Jardín.El Jardín.
El Jardín.

Looking back towards the house.
El Perro.El Perro.
El Perro.

"The Dog."
El Perro.El Perro.
El Perro.

Next to my hand for size reference.


13th April 2008

That dog is ADORABLE and so tiny! Salsa is a lot of fun. When you come back, I know there are a lot of places to salsa dance in Eugene, not sure about Bend.
14th April 2008

oh my gosh how cute is that puppy? Your house looks so pretty, I want to see it!
22nd April 2008

Que Hermosa
Wow your pictures are beautiful and your perrito is probably the cutest that I have ever seen. I am glad that it gets to sleep with you because it looks like it needs it. We love you Michelle and we are always thinking about you. Tyson, Sara and Katie
27th April 2008

I look forward to your next message. I hope to hear more on the children in the orphanage. Is there anything we can do here to help the children - supplies, etc.

Tot: 0.188s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb