Here I am, trying to figure out keyboards


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Michoacán » Morelia
June 16th 2007
Published: June 16th 2007
Edit Blog Post

MoreliaMoreliaMorelia

the aquaduct has more than 250 arches
I have arrived safely to Morelia. The flight was easy although I made a friend who helped guide me through the airport. it turned out that eventhough an airline employee told me over the phone that I could take 50 kilos in my suitcase, I could only bring 25 when I was at the airport. so i had to pay about 30 us dollars to get my luggage on the plane. (and i thought i was packing light). Its warm here, muggy even. I was just sitting in a plaza and the old stones in front of the church held all the heat from the day. It was nice to stay in one place for a minute, I really cant wait to meet my host family, or any other students for that matter. so far my adventure has just been a trial of trying to figure things out: how to rent a taxi, check into a hotel, buy a phone card, find a phone, find an internet (cafe isnt really the word, more like open store front with three computers in it). So far I have managed but I am looking forward to having people to share the experience with. Next I have to try and find a place to eat (so far I just ate a breakfast burrito in the airport). I have promised myself that I will be more adventurous with food. I had pico de gallo this morning (tomatos and onions) with my burrito and actually enjoyed it. I think one goal for this trip will be to conquer my hatred of tomatos. Tonight all the students in the program will get a breif welcome and tomorrow we have an orientation all in Spanish. The madness all begins tomorrow. I don't have my camera cord so I can't even try to upload photos but i have taken some pictures (some with Schmoo, moms sock monkey that will be a world renowned traveler after we have all taken pictures with him all around the world). I hope everyone is well and i will talk to you soon. much love. C


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



17th June 2007

Good Luck!
Hey Chels!! I hope your orientation went well and that you have met nice people to figure Mexico out with. Glad you got there safely! Lots of LOVE, Heather
17th June 2007

Day one
Job well done! Many major hurdles jumped with style and relative ease. Hope you have a great time meeting all you fellow travellers and your host family. My love and thoughts are always with you.
18th June 2007

Buena Suerte
Hi Chelsea! Hope your family is soooo cool. Tell us more about them. I am loving the blog, just worried about what you will find to eat that doesn't involve tomatoes! Give us a shout when you can. You are probably so involved with just trying to figure everything out. Thinking of you....sue
18th June 2007

Thinking of you
Dear Chelsea, I am glad you arrived safely. It sounds like food will not be your only adventure!! Yeah for tomatoes!!! Have fun, be safe and learn a lot!! I love You.

Tot: 0.342s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.2935s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb