Rihla #18


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco
February 18th 2013
Published: February 19th 2013
Edit Blog Post

1) My article talks about schools that are now using GPS handheld devices to track kids that skip school. They are for those who have four or more unexcused absenses. They are given an automated phone call that reminds them to arrive at school on time and then have to enter codes five times a day so that the school will track their locations. The idea is to get students to develop better habits and to go to school.

2) In the beggining of the article, I was furious. I already feel the government is keeping an eye on us 24/7, but to freely give school information about my location just makes me frustrated. I feel that education life and personal life should not mix because they are completely different lives. But as I kept reading, I realized that something did have to be done to motivate students to go to school. Also, they had data that proved that this method was effective. However, I feel that this method is too extreme. Tracking kids? The idea just makes me furious. So I am confused about how I feel towards this method of attendance improvement.

3) Maybe a future class might reffer to how government started to keep track of its citizens and how it has developed into the government spying today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0508s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb