Puerto Vallarta to Guanajuato, Mexico


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
July 17th 2011
Published: July 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My first trip to Mexico, alone. As I waited for my plane to arrive at Toronto Person Airport, I was surrounded by no-one. I am not being drastic, there was not one person in site waiting to board a flight to Puerto Vallarta, Mexico. I had been to Puerto Vallarta twice before, for some fun in the sun winter vacationing so it was quite surprising to see not one person in the waiting area, knowing full well it is a tourist destination. At first i thought I was in the wrong waiting area, and after compulsively re-checking the flight boards over 3 times I was at peace. It was a Sunday afternoon, and raining calmly. I had time to simply think, think about my trip, think about the bad relationship I was in at the time. Many thoughts went through my mind, but I had this sense that this would be one of the best trips of my life. I was unaware of how and why, but was I ever right that it would be the best trip of my life.

Boarding the small airplane, there was about 5 people on board, I assume others traveling to Puerto Vallarta had
The famous MaleconThe famous MaleconThe famous Malecon

(again sorry for the quality of photo, like I said in the blog these pictures are from a disposable camera, and scanned onto the computer) ..:(
booked an all-inclusive vacation and our means of staying in P.V was the undesired route. The people on board were mostly middle-aged and were excited to land. I over heard conversations of places to see, and reasons why they were traveling there. An old man, single traveler like myself said he had this great vision in a dream, telling him he had to go to Puerto Vallarta, so without a doubt in his mind, he shut down his business in Toronto, and bought himself a one-way ticket. It gave me great inspiration to see people living their dreams and fulfilling their callings. My journey was technically planned considering the time and budget I had at the time. The plan was 4 weeks in Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco and 3 weeks in Guanajuato, Guanajuato living with a home-stay and studying Spanish in a local school. I admit I desired to travel free in the unknown, however since I was 18 at the time, it was hard enough convincing my family to let me travel alone to Mexico, it would of been impossible to go without a plan; at least I would be learning something while I was down there.

Arriving at the airport(Puerto Vallarta):
There were so many families awaiting a holiday in the sun, while I was this young girl traveling without family or friends. I felt a bit awkward and yet liberated while I checked myself through Mexican customs alone. I knew not to feel ashamed and that I would meet plenty of people and build new friendships in this great city. As I exited the airport with my huge, elephant sized luggage, I was attacked by agents trying to book me a taxi or tours during my stay. I politely said I was meeting someone. And there that someone was, she was an older Mexican woman holding up a sign with my name. I greeted her politely and we made brief conversation. It was extremely hot at that moment and I could not wait to change my clothing and take a shower. Finally her husband came with a little car. I was embarrassed with the size of my luggage because it could barely fit in the trunk. As we were driving my host family invited me to go to Nayarit, to visit their friends. Even though I was tired, I agreed to go with them. The ride from the airport to Nayarit was simply spectacular. The hills of greenery intensified by misty air took my breath away. I could not be in a happier state of mind, I remembered seeing these mountains before however this time, I felt a deeper connection to my surroundings. I was alone and free; a perfect time to welcome good times to follow.

We arrived at a beautiful hacienda. It was, in my opinion, the ultimate Mexican home. Great size, surrounded by decadent plants and flowers. Friendly faces greeted us at the door, and welcomed me generously into their home. They treated me as if they had known me for years. I was a little guilty that I did not phone my parents out of the airport, at this point after an evening of playing games and drinking sweet jamaica (a hibiscus tea drink) served cold I had to just let it go. Eventually, they showed me their backyard facing a beautiful river and told me that it is not strange to see crocodiles. It was getting dark out, and finally it was time for us to go. The home owners told me to come back anytime, which I thought was sweet of them to say.

As my host-family and I made our way back to Jalisco, there was a huge difference in appearance. From luxuriously large homes and quiet streets to apartment buildings and streets filled with people and loud music. The contrast was like night and day and it excited me, it brought me to the real Mexico I had been looking for.

We finally arrived at my charming home-stay. Three-story orange stuccoed apartment building with tiny balconies facing cobble stoned streets. I was delighted to be there.

Second-day my host family made me delicious traditional Mexican breakfast, with fresh jugo de guayaba (guava juice). A real treat if I may add. That's when it was time to go to my first day of Spanish lessons at Solexico. I really recommend this school, the staff and teachers were absolutely amazing! My teacher Marco was great. I learned more Spanish in those 4 weeks then I did anywhere else (University included). He literally drilled the Spanish into our minds; it was challenging, lively and enjoyable unlike some other Spanish courses I have taken in the past. Learning aside, they arranged easy going events out, either on the patio of the school or in a kool lounge or club. These nights out are great especially if you are travelling alone and looking to have a good time.

I met so many wonderful people at the school, many from Europe and the United States, however, these friendships will last forever. Besides the people I met in the school, I constantly met people on the street that eventually became good friends whom i still talk to to this day.

Now let's talk about drinks; it was so cool to find variety stores like oxxo, stalked with cold beer and liquor and did I mention for dirt cheap? I was traveling on a budget so I admit , pre-club nights I would enjoy some beers on the malecon with some new friends overlooking a fantastic sunset. Can't beat it.

Club life in Puerto Vallarta; Amazing. Need I say more? Most clubs are lined up on the malecon facing the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Each club has something different to offer, but you won't be disappointed. Most clubs go until 4-5am, and then there's the serious after club that go until 7 in the morning, this is my kind of city baby! My favorite club was Zoo bar, great crowd, great music, great time.

I might as well add now, Semana Santa is Holy Week in Mexico, this is the week leading up to Easter Weekend, and let me just say that it is a real party. If you do not like a lot of action, packed beaches, clubs, streets, Semana Santa is not the best time to go into downtown P.V. However it's quite a site to see, people from all over Mexico, and the world visit during this week and it is a non-stop party, everything is going hard until 8 in the morning, people are pitched out on the beach, it's just a wild time.

Life learned lesson on this trip, was always trust whats in my heart, never go against my gut feeling and have faith in people. I was completely open to making new friends, and I met great people around ever corner under different circumstances. I even found a job working at a tattoo shop because I was friendly.

I was completely safe during my stay in Puerto Vallarta, the only trouble I encountered was one day; I woke up and had a strong feeling not to bring my ipod, camera, glasses, etc in my purse, but I had went against my gut feeling. I was having a lackadaisical type day, and I took a 30 min stroll into downtown Puerto Vallarta instead of taking the bus. As I reached the malecon I had bumped into a friend I made, and he had a day off work, so he asked if I would like to go to the beach that was about 15 minutes away, and I agreed hesitantly. We got to the beach and it was completely packed because of Semana Santa. We enjoyed a great bottle of white tequila, and danced to "banda" on the shore. It was a great time. As it was getting darker I felt the need to leave the beach and go home, but I stayed against my will. Eventually my friend and I sat about 13 feet from the ocean shore. As we were chit-chatting in Spanish a huge wave rushed over to us, reached our necks, stole both our bags, shoes, and my towel. I got up and rushed to try and grab my bag, but I could only save his. Although it may not seem like a huge deal, my heart felt as if the ocean had sucked it in to. I was in total shock. I had never lost anything so important to me. At that point I could not decipher what I would miss more, my music, my eye glasses or my beautiful pictures on my camera. Then it clicked, my money was in the ocean along with my keys for the home-stay. That would mean walking home shoe-less, key-less, and feeling clue-less. What would I tell the host family? A great big ocean stole my bag? It was the honest truth. I would not doubt the power of a wave any longer. What I did not know, while I was worried about my bag, was that the wave even took a little girl, but thank god the lifeguard saved her. So at the end of the day, my friend and I walked barefoot on the cobblestone streets and although I have always appreciated and admired those cobble stones, they are a b*tch to walk on, especially for great lengths.

This experience was unreal for me, not only did I have to rehearse what I would tell the host family, they were not answering the buzzer code at the building. It wasn't until another tenant came out worried that I was a criminal. Finally everything sorted itself out and I made my way into the apartment. What i had forgotten was, I had locked my luggage in the morning and the key was also in the ocean! It was not getting any better for me. It was Easter weekend, and most shops were closed. I had to wait until Tuesday to unlock my luggage and make a new set of keys. All I can say is, that morning I had questioned and doubted my actions, and went against them, which lead me into a mess. I will be thankful because from the whole experience it brought me a lot closer to God, and connection with my intuition. I could not ask for a greater lesson. I felt liberated. After that, I knew my experience in Mexico would be safe, and peaceful and that is exactly what it was.

(With that said, FORGIVE ME FOR THE QUALITY OF PICTURES I HAVE...I literally had to buy disposable cameras for the rest of my trip in order to capture moments, so any pictures from Puerto Vallarta or Guanajuato are scanned onto the computer ) 😞

All in all, Puerto Vallarta introduced me to great people, delicious food, a great night life, and a higher connection with my source I could not ask for more! I was almost ready to cancel my trip to Guanajuato, in fact I was almost ready to cancel my flight home! I had met so many wonderful Mexican friends, and put simply I did not want to leave the vibes of Puerto Vallarta. I still miss the beach town to this day but
luckily I stuck to my plan, and made my way to Guanajuato!

Puerto Vallarta: March 28th- April 25th 2010

Journey to Guanajuato: To Be Continued..........................

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb