Perils of Kathleen October 2008


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
November 22nd 2008
Published: November 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We arrived in PV this year on Oct 1 - big mistake coming that early as the weather was very hot & steamy. Next year it will be mid-October for sure.

I promptly became very unbalanced - I tell people I have Vertigo but that is only because it is easier to understand than what is really happening to me - I feel drunk most of the time and maintaining my balance is no small challenge (something like the economic crisis in the U.S). As soon as we get back in the States on 12-10, I have two Dr. appts the next day and more later. I am afraid to try and get this problem diagnosed down here as I think they would be handicapped by lack of sophisticated equipment and access to my medical records. We did, however get our teeth cleaned by our favorite dentist - at $35 each it is a tremendous bargain.

Early in October, we went with the dance group, Xiutla, to Guadalajara for an overnight stay. Ten years ago they won first prize for their dancing among groups from Jalisco and this year the number one group from the last ten years was invited back for an exhibition - not a contest. We stayed in a very nice hotel (a welcome change from our normal digs with the group). On the bus, it took 6 hours each way to travel to and from. We left at midnight on a Friday night and were able to check in to the hotel immediately. All in all, a very nice trip even though we didn't return until late on Sunday night.IT

After that we went to Colima for the weekend to see Sandra's parents and sisters. it is good exercise for our Spanish as English is non-existent.

In early November we went to Florida for a reunion of the Franssen sibs - two whom are from Europe. Leon's brother, Joe, owns a 5 BR house down there so every BR was filled and there were nine of us in total. Imagine nine people going to Disneyworld and trying to stay all together. It was fun but complicated. I am such a computer nerd that all that time (11 days in total) without the Internet was too much for me so I trucked up to the community hall where they had an Internet connection for $18.00/
hour. One day I spent $31.00 on it. Apparently when you are addicted like I am, money is secondary.

Since we have been back, life has been very quiet. Last Wed, Professor Enrique Barrios was feted by UNIVA - a university out of Guadalajara. It was very touching as we saw the kids dance the Bolero and more. The day before we saw posters of Enrique posted on the Malacon.

That's it for now - more later.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



25th November 2008

Xiutla dance group
Boy, these Xiutla guys are lucky to have such good fans as you, Kathy and Leon. You are more than fans, but supporters by actual deeds. Love you guys Fredy and Helga
25th November 2008

nice photos
great update and photos Mom.
10th December 2008

pictures/dance group
Kathleen I love the pictures you send with all the dialog. Very beautiful people. Just keep me on your list so I know what you and Leon are doing. Margie Murphy

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0621s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb