Peril's of Kathleen Coupeville 9-26-2008


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Puerto Vallarta
September 26th 2008
Published: October 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Here we are getting ready for flight to Mexico on Oct. 1 and our second home. I've been packing for a week which is no small challenge since the airlines reduced the number of checked bags to one. I just removed some towels from our luggage meant for our rental condo. Since the next occupants are friends of ours, I will ask them if they can bring down the towels.

Life has been very busy with Dr. appts and seeing friends and family that we won't see for another 2.5 months. I have had a balance problem for about six months and now I have been to the Neurologist, the Ear Dr., and General Practioner with no results - that is a double edged sword - one one hand good news that nothing is wrong but bad news that they can't diagnose the balance problem. Now I am going through a series of tests by a cardiologist (five appts.) and after that if the results are negative, I don't know what we'll do next.

Summer has flown by as I broke my predominant (right) wrist in late July as a result of my balance problem so it seems just
Me and MomMe and MomMe and Mom

Sept 2008
yesterday that we came home from PV (actually it was mid-June) as we stayed for the wedding of my son Thomas and his bride, Sandra on June 7 in Colima, Mexico. This was after breaking my rib as a result of an equilibrium problem in late May. It seems I have been laid up forever but now I am very cautious when I move about as more broken bones are not on my agenda.

Last weekend we drove to the Tri-Cities to see my 92 YO mom one more time before we leave and after one day we drove over 200 miles further south to see a good friend and sculptor Jim Demetro and his wife, Eva, (http://www.jimdemetro.com/index.htm) from whom we picked up a couple of statues we bought. He is an excellent sculptor as evidenced by his work (see pictures).

In early Sept, we attended my 50 year high school reunion. My good friend and 1960 bridesmaid, Ann Roberts who was in my class was also there. One interesting tidbit is that the mother of Sarah Palin was in my graduating class also although I was not more than a passing acquaintance of hers. There were 350 kids in my graduating class from this central WA high school. My brother who lives in Richland and who graduated with me did not attend. We did have close to 200 grads who returned though - mostly from out of town. I ended up sitting next to a graduate that I did not remember but who lives within 5 miles of us on Whidbey Island.

Along the way this summer, we attended the 72nd birthday party of my sister-in-law and saw Leon's two grandchildren as often as we could.

Now we are just waiting for results from my tests and crossing our finger they don't find something major wrong but hoping they can identify the cause of the balance problem. There is some truth in the old saying, "As soon as you retire, s_ _ t happens." Or is that the new saying? The Cardiologist called us and the first three tests were normal. As I said "double edged sword.

As it turned out, the only thing they could find wrong with me is an irregular heartbeat. Nothing to explain my dizziness issues. I was prescribed a medication and advised to see a cardiologist who specializes in
Male Flaminco DancerMale Flaminco DancerMale Flaminco Dancer

This one is modeled after our friend and famous Flamenco dancer, Luis Montero.
this when we return in December.

Then Oct 1 arrived and we flew off to Puerto Vallarta (see next travellogue).


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Sally Sheeran (mother of Sarah Palin) promo boardSally Sheeran (mother of Sarah Palin) promo board
Sally Sheeran (mother of Sarah Palin) promo board

Seen at 50 year high school reunion


Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0389s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb