Bye Bye Camera :'(


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
April 16th 2011
Published: April 16th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Saturday: Cumple de Ricky!!!!
Up bright and early Saturday morning, although not sure why... I felt half dead... However, I got up anyways and a cringing 8 o’clock and got ready for my day to begin!! I didn’t do anything really except put on my workout clothes-I was going to the gym at 10. First of all I would like to say I LOVE this gym, the membership basically includes everything (classes, squash, swimming pool, pool tables, etc.) except the pilates reformers and that freaky machine that is advertised on tv that doesn’t anything besides make your body-fat included-jiggle.... So as much as I would love to see that, can’t say I’d be shelling out the money for that anytime soon, oh and the gym is less than 2 blocks from the house. The first class I went to that day was Zumba; this class and Ritmo Latinos are my favorite classes to go to. Zumba only lasted a short hour but was still great fun! The next class was Yoga, and from the yoga classes I usually take, I was definitely not expecting this. When I think of yoga I think of relaxation, stretching, and flexibility. This class was a little different, it was stretching-so to speak-, mostly flexibility, and a hint of CRAZY. The teacher had us doing ‘poses’ that I don’t think anyone should even be able to contort into, and there was some yelling involved... where’s the relaxation people?!?!. I felt like elasti-girl after that class!... Which is probably why I was extremely sore the following days, and still am. What I thought was supposed to be an hour class (after it started I was counting down until it was over lol) turned into and hour and a half class!! I felt a little bad, but I pretty much ran..ok, limped, out of the class first while everyone else was taking their sweet time talking and chatting and whatnot. Why they decided to begin the relaxation after the YOGA class? I have no idea. After I got home and had a super lovely sheen of sweat over me, I headed straight for the shower!! That afternoon Tere, Teresa, abuelo, and I went to Plaza Universidad, which is coincidently located near the university. There Teresa bought pink tenis shoes for her 70 themed party she was going to later that night with her husband and I bought white and blue with white seam tenis shoes, which by the way are the most comfortable shoes ever! I’m going to fast forward to that night because literally nothing more fascinating happened. It’s kind of funny, usually when I get ready for school (in Canada) I take longer to get ready than if I’m dressing up, anyone see something wrong here? No? ...ok. After the other girls got ready, and an hour and a half past the time we were supposed to be there, we were finally on our way to Ricky’s house. His actual birthday was on Wednesday but he decided to celebrate it the weekend instead. I have to say that all in all it was a good time, there were tacos, music, dancing, laughing, and lots of talking. Social events are great ways to practice my Spanish!! When we got home, Tere and Yareli and I went to our rooms and I don’t know about them but I laid on top of my bed and fell asleep, yes I was that tired.

The next morning I was up early again, and again I don’t know why..I mean, I had only gotten like 4 hours of sleep. Anyways, I got up and headed to see if anyone else was up. Teresa was the only one up and still in the house, German and German papa had already left to the market. Since I had promised German a few days before that I would make him pancakes that morning, I decided to get cooking! first I had to walk to Oxxo to buy veegetable oil, I could’ve used olive oil but that gives it a weird taste. Once I had my vegetable oil I was ready to cook up some chocolate chip pancakes. I was about a third of the way through when the men got back from the market with fresh fruit, vegetables and bread in hand...and cart.German papa finished cooking the chilaquiles, I finished cooking the pancakes, Teresa put some bread on the table, and we all sat down to eat. Chilaquiles with frijoles and a fresh piece of birote (best bread in the world) is one of my most favored breakfasts’ 😊 After eating German papa suggested that we go to San Juan Dios, it’s a marketplace downtown, and it’s giant!! while downtown we also went to see the Cathedral, which was emaculate, and there were a few other places we went to see however I cannot remember their names. I also bought a white baseball hat that says Guadalajara on it with a picture of the Cathedral in the background. I will definitely be going back there to buy souvenirs and such before I come back 😊 That night Tere, her mom, her dad, and I went to Applebee’s to watch a soccer game and have supper... mainly to watch the soccer game haha. The team we were all cheering for won 3-0, and I got to order ribs which I haven’t had since the summer, so it was definitely a win-win-win all around 😊 but I guess for all the good there needs to be something bad?? Well the bad is pretty bad, I forgot my lululemon little purse which had my headphones, bank card and CAMERA in it, which had the memory card the auntie Lynn literally just got me for Christmas. We cancelled the card, and were in contact with the owner and manager of the restaurant, and well,..... basically I have no camera, which really really sucks. Did I mention how much it sucks????????!!!!!!! Ugh, That definitely ruined my night and the next mornng, and still makes me mad to this day. $@W%U& ^%$ %$^&^%#$%^ &%#^$%^ &%^*( &^$!$#^&(^#$%%%^

Monday: Beginning Of The End
5 days until vacations
Monday was another average, extremely tired day at school haha, I can’t remember what I did exactly during school, but it couldn’t have been bad or else I most likely would have remembered it. After school I went to Charly’s house and at 4 I went to my classes. The first two hours as usual I’m teaching little kids English. I’m happy to report that they were more talkative this class, in both Spanish and English, I guess they just needed some time to warm up to me and feel more comfortable. We studied a Jack&Jill picture book, everyone took turns reading a sentence or two and then I asked them some questions about the book and for the most part they got the answers. There’s this one child, who seems like a very nice little kid but he doesn’t really participate, sometimes because he didn’t pay attention and other times because he didn’t understand me. I decided to make him read more than the others but while he was reading I would follow along and repeat the words with him so he could hear the pronunciation. After that I asked him only him a question or two about the book and even though he took his time, I was very happy that he could answer the question. After we talked for a few minutes I began writing out the story on the whiteboard and had the children copy it down. About 15 minutes before the end of class we stopped and at the same time they read out loud what they had written down. The last 15 minutes of class was of us just talking, it’s hard to keep 6 kids from speaking Spanish, eventually I said aw what the heck and joined in on the Spanish conversation with them instead of repeatedly telling them “en ingles”! lol. I wasn’t exactly ready for my 2 hour Spanish class but it went better than expected. I had to write (in Spanish of course) about the story I read during the last class, I had to write a summary and give my opinion about the story. The story is a legend about the two volcanoes in Mexico City, a love story, somewhat like Romeo & Juliet. It’s a good read, but the names are extremely difficult to pronounce.

Tuesday: 4 days until vacations
Didn’t do a whole lot that day. After school I went with Martha and Charly to their house, after eating, we went to watch a movie in Charly’s room (Horton Hears A Who - in Spanish), I had a little nap and then around 9:30pm we went to the farmacia to buy a cake mix and some other things. I had wanted to make Mari a cake because the next day was her birthday, but didn’t have time to do one from scratch so the next best thing was one from a box. I ended up going home and baking the cake myself, good thing I went home first because I was up until 1 just baking the stupid thing!! it took almost an hour! I then had decided to go to bed and just get up early to decorate it. I was up by 6:30am, and with my eyes half closed I flipped the now cooled off cake upside-down to get if out of the pan so I could level off the top. I have no idea what the heck happened, because I thoroughly buttered the pan before hand, but the cake just did not want to come out, even when I tried to help it along, it was on the brink of falling apart. As to avoid a complete disaster, I thought quickly and took a butter knife and began to level off, as best I could, the cake. It’s a lot harder than you think especially when the side of the cake pan is all ridges... After cutting, reparing, replacing, and re-patting down pieces of cake, it was finally ready to be iced and decorated. I had to improvise with what I usually use to put icing on cakes, so I used a fully plastic spatula, and i had to say it worked pretty amazing. The last thing to be done was to put ‘Mari’ on the cake using mini M&Ms and put ‘17' using gummy bears. When we unvealed the cake to the class and served it, they were almost like animals and in under 15 minutes the cake was gone. Just as Ross once said, “If you didn’t eat fast, you didn’t eat.” and in my group in school.... no, in the whole school, that is definitely the case haha.

Wednesday: Busy Busy Busy
3 days until vacations
My day went ok, nothing special there. After school I went to Charly’s house again because we had Spanish grammar class at 6. Before we went to class we had to go get a few things done, go to the bank for Charly, go buy fruit from the Fruteria, and then go check out balloons and prices.We did that it all just in time for class. Shockingly enough, the grammar teacher didn’t show up yet again, -______-. Our regular Spanish teacher had us do about 2 pages of writing a sentence using different verbs, and in case you were wondering, ohhh yeahh, it was tons of fun being in a hot room exhausting my brain lol. At 7 I had to went back to Martha’s house and from there me and Martha went out to buy balloons, and bread. After my Spanish class I was supposed to go to Mari’s birthday dinner, but first I wanted to get her 17 pink balloons; 1 for each year and pink is her favorite color. We went and got the balloons and then went and got bread, and again, just in case you all wanted to know, it was EXTREMELY fun carrying around 17 balloons through the streets while it decided to become all windy.. It was almost 9:20pm by the time I finally got to andares, and met up with everyone else. All the balloons were good but of course just as I was handing her the boquet of balloons one floated too close to a plant and popped. Well that was a bummer 😞 Everyone paid and we headed off to Ricky’s house, while Mari was walking out another popped, lol whoops. The other girls went in Yareli’s car, and I went with the guys. We were in Charly’s car (one of freaking many!) and it had to be one of the nicest yet. It was a Hummer. Yes, a Hummer. I was extremely jealous because the inside of the truck was just amazing but I would never pay that money for that truck and I don’t like the way it looks from the outside hahaha. At Ricky’s house a few of the guys and I played some soccer in the living room while the others sat around and talked and listened to music. Before I knew it our night ended oh so quickly and we were at home and I was heading to bed.

Thursday: nothing nothing, nothing ?!?
2 days until vacations!!!!!!!!!

Friday: Vacations babbbyyy!!!!!!!!!!
Last day before vacations!!!!!!!!!!!
WOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOHOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO VACATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Today was an extremely chill day at school, no one really did anything, they usually don’t but today, for the most part the teachers didn’t even bother trying to get them to work. After school I went to Charly’s because I was going the Spanish class again at 5 because I had some work from the last class I wanted to finish. At five I headed off to class and it only took me a little less than an hour to do the work- all I had to do was find pictures and paste the picture that corresponded with the typed out sentence that I had done last class. Once I was done that I joined the other two that were having their English class, and the others that were upstairs doing kung-fu finished and came down to join us. We sat there talking until almost 8, and yes in Spanish. On our way out, one of the girls suggested that we go to the amazing Italian place that was just a couple blocks over. Of course we all said yes so off we went! We each just got some iced tea and then we ordered a calzone to share between the 5 of us. As always it was delicious, and for dessert we ordered panacotta (at least I’m pretty sure that’s what it was called) either way, it was really good. It’s a good thing I’m going to the gym tomorrow morning!! hahahah.

Lots of Love,

Samantha

Advertisement



21st May 2011

cool... wait I guess hot!
I love reading these Sam! That sucks about your camera but at least it's not the beginning of your trip! When you get back you'll have to come down to shushwap! Mexico sounds sooooo fun I think I want to go visit you there!!!
21st May 2011

Glad you are having an awesome time!!
Love reading your blogs, sorry about your camera. Danika wants your email (just email it to my gmail and I will give it to her) She reads your blogs and is loving your experience as do I!!Look forward to seeing you this summer and so glad you had this awesome experience. Please say hi to Terese from us. Auntie Cathy

Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb