Caos, estilo Mexicano (Chaos, Mexican style)


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
July 3rd 2010
Published: July 6th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


The Kitchen (and Sandra's office)The Kitchen (and Sandra's office)The Kitchen (and Sandra's office)

No, that is not a sexist remark!!!
So we roll into Guadalajara... Our accommodations have been taken care of long ago and a deposit paid. Well, the woman renting the house asked for more money (despite our written contract!) and then decided she wasn't going to rent us the place when we didn't pay the higher amount. Nice. (See my next post about the rule of law) Oh it wasn't just that, she also decided not to give us our deposit back. It was too late by that time to rent any other place Friday evening so we would have to wait for Saturday. On Saturday, after a fruitless search we finally found a place that was more expensive (read: not in our budget), was not as well located, and was smaller than the one we paid the deposit on (and so far have not gotten back). The renting office was closing in less than 1 hour and would not accept credit cards or dollars. So off into the city I went looking for a change house (which are not normally open on the weekends) while Sandra stayed in the renting office to assure they wouldn't close. The one change house which was open knew they had me over a barrel and gave me WAY under the exchange rate. When I got back, I was told we couldn't rent the apartment without a paper proving I was currently employed. Of course I quit my job to take this trip. Aye caramba!

It is difficult for those who have not lived outside the States to appreciate how relatively organized and logically structured our life is there. This has been a solid lesson in both patience and doing business outside one's home country/cultural context. I would like to say I have made real strides in learning both lessons but we shall see.

I am pleased to say God has continued to care for us as He always does. With just a bit of a rough night on Friday, we are now in a nice little place which has internet included!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

The BedroomThe Bedroom
The Bedroom

What is this? I love Lucy where we have to sleep in separate beds?!?


6th July 2010

I feel your pain
I now realize how relatively organized and structured life back in the States is. I feel your pain. :) Blessings to you guys...Michael

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.0297s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb