Guadalajara, First Impressions


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
July 20th 2009
Published: July 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

To a mosquito, I have always been the holy grail, the Mecca, the Wailing Wall. To a mosquito, taking a chunk of my forearm or calf is akin to the feeling one gets upon scaling their first mountain, puckering up for the first time, or meeting their red-haired piano-playing idol. If two mosquitos were having a conversation, one would most likely say to the other: "She's the cat's meow." Mosquitos love antiquated idioms.

Upon my arrival in Guadalajara, the mosquitos had a giant fiesta. This is Mexico afterall, so they threw their sombrero'd heads back in hearty guffaws as shots of tequila were passed 'round and female mosquitos were grabbed by their mosquito waists and pulled tight to dance to the tunes played by talented mosquito mariachis. Against my wishes, and without an RSVP, I attended this celebration. I regretted it dearly the next morning.

Never in my life have I been to a place with the sheer number of mosquitos that can be found here. There is evidence of their existence on my legs, arms, knuckles, toes, and yes, even on the soles of my feet. I woke up last night just a-scratching away. I walked to school this morning as if through a haze. The mosquitos are as thick as gravy, or mejor dicho, as mole.

Why would I want to spend 5 weeks of my life as a mosquito buffet? For many reasons, friends! And they include: 1.) I'm staying in one of the most beautiful houses I have ever laid eyes on in my life. Not too big, not too small, my Mexican mother owns a casita with two outdoor plant-filled patios, a dark wood bar in the center of her living room, and a 5 month-old puppy that wears lipstick on her cheeks and has taken a liking to me named Nena. 2.) If I thought my house was beautiful, the school that I will be attending simply blew me away. White-washed walls are the backdrop for ferns, flowers, and fountains. All classrooms are open to allow a soft breeze to come swooshing by every now and again. 3.) As of this morning, all of my weekends are planned out... various trips around the state of Jalisco promise to be amazing experiences and a good chance to get out of the big city. 4.) The school offers a twice-a-week opportunity to volunteer at a local orphanage, which I plan to take full advantage of. 5.) Spanish!

So, if the mosquitos seem to feel that they are a bit malnourished and that I am their gringa meal ticket, so be it... a small price to pay, after all.

Advertisement



22nd July 2009

Looking for mosquitos? Try northern Minnesota. Despite those nasty vampire mosquitos, sounds like you're having a wonderful time. Live it up!

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb