Today I must go home... eehhh...


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Guadalajara
January 2nd 2007
Published: January 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Now, I am in Guadalajara, it´s morning and I get to spend today finishing up here and then heading back to the airport for a direct flight to OHare. The bus trip back from Puerto Vallarta was mostly uneventful, no traffic or anything. It took us a while to figure out the right buses, but the people here are so helpful it has never been a problem. This morning and older guy, obviously still drunk from last night, was telling us where to go, only really really quickly, and with a drunken slur... so we didn´t get it. it still worked out. we were at the bus station early and ate a burrito. This time, we didn´t get Lunch Plus on the bus, (did I tell about that last time? it´s sort of at an inside joke level at this point) The bus was still comfy, here there is all kinds of leg room (I am 6´ 4¨), and in front of your seat is this leg'rest thing you pull forward. It´s really plush. So we hit the bus, almost immediately fell asleep. I woke up in about an hour, and Wendy slept pretty much the whole ride, so after a while I got sick of watching ¨Big Momma´s house II¨ dubbed into spanish... and by ¨sick of¨ I mean, ¨didn´t want to go to jail in Mexico for killing a busload of people¨ so I listened to music on her mp3 player and eventually found her college acapella group on there and fell in love with acapella music. who´d of thought? it´s incredible though. I want to sing acapella now. So we got to the bus station and took another bus back to el Centro and returned to ¨home sweet hostel¨ to find that they´d moved their check in desk across the room. it was really weird. Some of the people who´d just arrived when we left were still there, but it´s so odd that every day there are different people. hard to get used to. Elton, who had been at the hostel and my roommate for a while, had moved to his apartment, maybe I´ll get to see him today, maybe now. Anyway, after listening to music some more and meeting some students from france, we went to la playita for dinner, which wasn´t particularly good, but el tacazo wasn´t open on new years. oh well. It will be kinda hard to leave, as Wendy and I have grown quite quite close in the past 10 days... first as friends, then as more, in a very natural, yet unbelievable fashion. perhaps it is the knowing we would soon be parted that made it so easy to get so into it so fast. It is so cool that she will teach english here for a year and just took a flight to Mexico City without a job or anything. Ballsy, so cool. anyway who knows. I will miss her. This morning I woke up before anyone else. Weird since I am tired and feel a horde of mexican diseases bearnig down on me. but I feel rested and showered and can´t wait for some cafe de ollo (mexican coffee prepared with cinnamon) and my last day in Guadalajara, a city which has shown me so much of Mexico and myself in so little time. I honestly feel so at home here it is crazy. Last night I was looking for a horse/carraige to see how much they cost ($20 for 40 min) and saw some lost backpackers from Quebec and was able to tell them not only where the hostel was, but also where there were two other cheap hotels where they could stay. (one of these places is $16 a night and was REALLY nice) Anyway, I need to start writing down addresses and phone numbers and getting breakfast and saying goodbye to Wendy and packing and all that.

next entry will be from chicago 😞

Advertisement



Tot: 0.139s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb