THE DAY I DECIDED TO BECOME A NUN!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Jalisco » Cuidad Guzman
October 7th 2007
Published: October 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

......NOT!!! Wow.....a whole month has gone by already....I cant believe it! Now I've started at the Tec my routine is alot more hectic and seem to fly by!!

I the morning I get up at 6.45 and get dressed and go to the Boys dormitory for 7. There, I wake them all up and help the Kinder (which consists of 1 3year old, 2 4year olds and a 5year old boys) make their beds, get showered and dressed and then take them to breakfast. I sit with the Kinder (2 girls one 4 one 5) at breakfast supervising them and trying to keep the running around to a minimum and eating to a maximum...which is easier said than done. After breakfast I take the Kinder CHildren to wash their teeth and then to Kinder. When I return on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays I shower and go to work for 10, on Tuesdays and Thurdsdays I go to a Bibal lesson with the Children lead by Madre Gema. Whilst the children get showered and ready for school I shower and get ready for work, before going to pick up the Kinder. Then we all have lunch before I help take the older children to school and pick up food donated by a local school. At 3 I either return from work or go to work. AT the house I usually have free time in the afternoon so come to the internet cafe and send emails etc or just rest....or if for some miraculous reason I have energy I play with the Kinder. We eat at 6.30 when the kids come home from school or I come home from work at 7 and cook myself something, usually eggs tortilla and salsa!! as its easy! In the evening from 7-8 I look after the Kinder kids yet again whilst the older children do their homework and then supervise the boys either playing or watching telly until they go to bed at around 9 when I usually do a bit of lesson planning before crashing. I sleep very well now!!

At the Tec I have 3 different types of groups at the moment. The Nissan Group who are all mechanical engineers and have to learn english in 2 months as at the end of October (so only one month now) they have a job interview with Nissan and they get the job if their English is sufficient. SO pressure is really on there. I also teach a TOFEL group which is a more advanced groúp who take regular tests to assess thier level of english. The last is conversation classes over a range of different groups and times. I enjoy the conversation classes the most as we can relax and just chat mainly in english but they help me with my spanish too, which is consequently improving rapidly! I teach Mondays and wednesdays 10-2, tuesdays and thurdays 3-6 and Fridays 10-12 and then 5-6 in the afternoon. I'm really enjoying some time away from the orphanage and the opportunity to make some friends!

My main friend here is fellow teacher Maria Jose whotook me out last weekend and during the week and this weekend and is really good fun. Last night we went to a fair which was actually alot better than I expected...there was lots of different tents playing different types of music, each with their own theme and bar. I had a really good night! today I'm just getting some washing done and am going out for dinner later with a few friends, and thats all my news for this week. No current plans for next week....but i'll keep you posted!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.257s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0366s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb