Wanna Loose Weight? Move To Taxco.


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Taxco
November 8th 2008
Published: November 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Local KidsLocal KidsLocal Kids

Check out the one on the far left. He thinks it's an "official" school photo. Funny. They were cool kids.
Taxco (pronounced tahss-ko) is built on a mountainside. It is a beautiful town with many hills. Seriously, if you wanna lose some weight and build huge legs, move to Taxco. I gained 20 pounds of leg muscle just by walking around town....many times uphill. There are no sidewalks either, so you also build speed by dodging cars that drive inches from you. A little more time here and I could try out for the NFL.

All the buildings in Taxco are designed similarly and share the same white paint job. The Mexican government wanted to keep it's colonial look, so it enforces new structures to make sure they fit with the town's look. The houses are all built very close to one another...tight fit. The mercado is a maze. I kept getting lost in there. There are no signs telling you where the street exits are at or the street names. Typical. I ran into some Germans in rags who have been lost for weeks.

Didn't see many tourists here. That was cool. I only saw two groups of older Germans. Like I said before....they're EVERYWHERE. I didn't meet anyone at my hostel because there wasn't anyone there. I was the only person in my dorm. I went out for beers on my last night at a local restaurant/bar. After a few drinks I got invited over to hang out with some locals, Gabriela and Rafael. They told me I looked bored, but they probably felt sorry for me as I was drinking by myself. They turned out to be really cool. Both are artists.

Located outside of Taxco are las Grutas the Cacahuamilpa (underground caverns). They were awesome! We traveled 2 kilometers underground.

I liked Taxco, but not much nightlife during the week. Definitely a town worth checking out though.

alex


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

Cable CarCable Car
Cable Car

Riding in another cable car high above the city!
Taxco  Taxco
Taxco

View from the Christ monument.
Christ MonumentChrist Monument
Christ Monument

Up high in the mountains.


10th November 2008

So where are you heading of to now? How were the chicks!? Keep on enjoying the food... you won't taste anything like it unless you come back to El Chuco! Takew care brother and see you when I see you.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0314s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb