No more Acapulco


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guerrero » Acapulco
June 27th 2007
Published: June 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Currently my ship is off the coast of Costa Rica. We left Mexico on Sunday night, and are now on our way to Panama. My last 2 days in Acapulco were not as busy as my first two, but they were still amazing. On Saturday a group of friends and I headed downtown to the bungee tower. I jumped as well as two others. The tower is awesome for two reasons. First it is right on the beach; the view is gorgeous. Second, it is over a pool, so when you jump you actually can get dunked. It was so much fun! Don’t worry Mom, Dad, I got the DVD of it!
After the bungee jumping we decided to walk back to the ship via beach. And it would have been a lovely walk except that it was almost two miles. Even that isn’t bad, but the beach is at an angle and that’s where the problem was. Our left ankle was not happy with us, but still we did it, and had some nice sunburns to show for it. (Oh I might add now that this trip is one of discovery. After my day in Ensenada I made a new discovery about myself. I am allergic to aloe. How weird is that? I am not going to go into all the details, but let’s just say my face did not look pretty. A visit with the lady at the ship spa and she gave me miracle lotion for my face. And it is miracle lotion; it worked amazingly. How much was this miracle lotion? $40 for a little 1 oz bottle. Don’t judge! I was desperate. You would have done the same thing.) The day ended with another fun filled night at Palladium.
Oh! Here is a good story about the how insane they are in Acapulco with the driving. I already mentioned that the most common taxis are the little blue and white bugs. Well, they aren’t the safest either. As everyone was getting back to the port after Palladium a little blue&white was driving around the turn, hit the curb, and flipped over onto its top. Everyone rushed out to the car thinking it was students in the taxi, which it wasn’t. The driver and passenger, another Mexican man, crawled out of the car and started walking towards the police like there was nothing wrong. They acted as if this sort of thing happened all the time, and maybe it does. Within a few minutes the driver was in an argument with the police, at which point all the students were ushered into the port building. Still the reactions by the police and the driver and passenger were so different from what you would expect to see with Americans.
So the last day was spent bungee jumping again, it only cost $20 the second time, and watching the US Mexico soccer game. We won 2-1!!! Right before we left I went over to Fort San Diego. It was pretty, and the view was amazing, but I think I find the Castillo de San Marcos a bit more to my liking.
And that is the end of my trip to Acapulco. I loved it. The people of Mexico are fascinating and so interesting to talk to (when they aren’t trying to sell you something.) It was especially interesting to learn about their perspective on the immigration issue, because we Americans tend to see the issue as unilateral. It isn’t, it is bilateral, involving Mexico as well. Everything in the Mexican newspapers was about the issue. Interesting to see what will happen.
So now we go to country dos. We will arrive on Friday morning!


Advertisement



27th June 2007

Allergic to Aloe?
How can you be allergic to aloe? You've put it on your skin before for sunburns. I know you have. Weird.
29th June 2007

wat the hek is aloe??????????
hey kaleen I have been reading your blog its so cool. it must have been amazing jumping off a building! enjoy your trip!!!!! Spencer
2nd July 2007

boo!!!
hey crazy lady...just wanted to say hello and i hope you're having a blast (it sounds like you are). don't get any crazy diseases from the amazon ;) miss you tons!!!!
2nd July 2007

Wow!
Oh my gosh Kaleen these journal entries are ridiculous. I AM SO JEALOUS OF YOU!! And allergic to aloe? Huh? When do you cross the equator? I see your hair is short? Have you already cut it? LOVE YOU LOVE YOU LOVE YOU!!! -Taylor

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1015.7kb