Pamplonada! (San Miguelada)


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Guanajuato » San Miguel de Allende
September 23rd 2006
Published: September 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Team.The Team.The Team.

Ready for kickoff!
Hey! wow now this is what I call a fiesta! Thanks to a few very organised friends we made it here in great time, stayed with some great people and avoided the exhorberant prices being charged at all of the local hotels.

It is nearly law in Mexico to drink, drink fast and drink more than you can, which we did with great pleasure. Not a cent spent in bars though, this party was made for the street around the circuit used to channel the bulls through early Saturday afternoon. Yeeha!

You may notice a distinct lack of photos of the actual bulls and those crazy enough to run with them, but I challenge you to fight your way through that crowd to get a good pic! It was jam packed, truly amazing! I was nearly tempted to have a run myself, I mean how hard is it to dodge a few bulls down the street? That is of course until I found out it is not the bulls you should be worried about, but the people running who tend to use first timers as human shields to see how close they can get to the bull, they also
I love Mexico!I love Mexico!I love Mexico!

Enough said
like to zone off areas so you can’t run past, hmmmmm not my cup of tea!

Viva Mexico Cabronies! Thanks to the many many very generous and friendly people I met on Saturday night after I inevitably lost my friends in the thick crowd. Seeing that I had absolutely no idea where I was staying, it was good fortune that Halana was also kind enough to share the top of her Van with me. If you haven’t tried it do, nothing better than fresh air, a beautiful woman and denting the crap out of a rental! Just watch the dew in the morning, it can get pretty cold up there! Hilarious nonetheless.

Words cannot explain, well not when I am as tired as I am right now. Enjoy the pics, will try and write some sense later.


Adios!

J



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

Backstreets San MiguelBackstreets San Miguel
Backstreets San Miguel

If we had known we were going the wrong way, we may have turned back!
But we didn'tBut we didn't
But we didn't

So here's us hitching back to where we were supposed to be.
Perparing for the rematchPerparing for the rematch
Perparing for the rematch

Kick off in twenty
Rarrrr!Rarrrr!
Rarrrr!

Couldn't help but jump in the back of this guys Hummer. Seemed like a good idea at the time!
The CathedralThe Cathedral
The Cathedral

Always time for a bit of culture... backdrop to the route the bulls and crazy people take.
Germany and Sweeden.Germany and Sweeden.
Germany and Sweeden.

The cute guy in the hat is me.
The bull truck.The bull truck.
The bull truck.

I think these guys were supposed to be looking for lost bulls. Ah well...


Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0328s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb