Stilettos + Cobblestone Streets = DISASTER


Advertisement
Published: April 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

If you've ever been to San Miguel de Allende you know you'll definitely need a good pair of shoes. You do a lot of walking in San Miguel de Allende and the streets are cobblestone. They are extremely slick especially in the rainy season. So, a good pair of shoes is a must. On my last trip, I traipsed around in a pair of four inch heels for most of the trip. Luckily for me, I had the assistance of my fiance, Julio, to help me keep my balance and from breaking my neck.

What's a girl to do?

You can always go for athletic shoes during the day. They’ll provide the support you need but if you are like me they can cause your feet to become extremely hot. Also, on a night out on the town they probably won't go with your outfit.

Many women have found a solution with the ever popular, San Miguel Shoes. They are made locally, come in a variety of colors, and even have a slight heel. However, if you are wanting something other than the SMS and aren't quite in their demographic yet, here are a few other choices.

The Cole Haan 'Air Bria' Perforated Ballet Flat is a great choice. I'm convinced that the person who created this shoe must have been to San Miguel at some point in their life and decided to create this fabulous shoe. This is my personal favorite because it's fashionable, colorful, and comfortable. It is "a ballet-style flat cushioned with Nike Air and trimmed in patent leather". You can't go wrong with this shoe.

Next on the list another Cole Haan + Nike collaboration: the Cole Haan 'Air Bria' Woven Mary Jane. It also has the Nike Air cushioning and comes in three colors black, platino, and dark metallic brown.

Another great choice is Hispanitas ‘Mango’ Mary Jane. It offers a slight heel and a heel support strap as well. It’s vivid color pattern is perfect for spring and summer.

I’m sure that there are many other great shoe selections for maneuvering in this beautiful Mexican town. All of these shoes can be found at Nordstrom’s. Please let me know if you have any suggestions. The important thing to remember is to wear something comfortable with ankle support and avoid those stilettos and flip flops, for sure!


Advertisement



Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0253s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb