Guanajuato state


Advertisement
Published: January 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

lake Chappallalake Chappallalake Chappalla

Can you hear the bird singing!
Well here I go again. Rereading the blog I wrote from Guananjuato I was surprised that I hadnĀ“'t mentioned 2 other items.
I arrived at the Centale la Autobus ( always found away from the center of the town )around 3pm and following Lonely Planet directions found the city bus to carry me INTO town about a 20 minute ride. I mentioned that the town was in a valley but what I neglected to say was that we had to drive through three different tunnels to enter the city. The first took 18 seconds ,the 2nd took 8 seconds and the 3rd took 39seconds. These were for the roads leading into town . There are additional tunnels and subterranean streets ( dried up river beds actually) for leaving town. I did say the valley was impressive.

The second was the surprise when I was checking out my room at the hostel. I heard drums and horns and went to look out the balcony . Below me were a group of about 20 men in feathers and animal print costumes dancing and chanting as they moved down the street .They were followed by MANY different bands, young ,old ,teenagers, men
Parade in honour of San MiquelParade in honour of San MiquelParade in honour of San Miquel

I know that it was done just for me
...and finally a group on horseback. The parade took about 20 minutes and each group was carrying a banner celebrating St Michael the Archangel. It was quite a sight ...and sound. The street is very narrow and the drumbeats and horn sounds bounced back and forth off the walls the whole time. It made my head ring after a bit but I thoiught it was an amazing welcome to the city.

And now I am having a bit of a gringo fix here in San Miguel de Allende.


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

the parade continuesthe parade continues
the parade continues

The sounds kept bouncing off the walls....It was wonderful
Teatro Juarez...Teatro Juarez...
Teatro Juarez...

My first glimpse of the area around the Jardin
The strolling MinstralsThe strolling Minstrals
The strolling Minstrals

Surely a La Belle kind of a thing to do!!!
GuanajuatoGuanajuato
Guanajuato

The colours of the houses and the slopes of the hills are a great combination.
ParroquiaParroquia
Parroquia

The central church in the plaza in San Miquel
Again  the parroquiaAgain  the parroquia
Again the parroquia

Lit up at night ...for the bar across the street
My neighbourhood in San MiquelMy neighbourhood in San Miquel
My neighbourhood in San Miquel

The colours and the wooden carvings are a treat to see...why don't we do this at home?


20th January 2008

Beautiful sites
The colors of the building on the hillside lovely and the church with all it spires is too. Happy to know you are doing well and enjoying the sights.
22nd January 2008

Thanks for the photos, Pam
Youre commentary is always entertaining, but the photographs are truly amazing. This set really took me with you. Thanks.

Tot: 0.398s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1473s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb