The Apartment


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

The sun was fading fast when I finally arrived at my 17th century colonial apartment. The lady that I’ve come to know as Vera the housekeeper answered the door. She immediately starting speaking to me in Spanish - I told her I didn’t understand but this did not deter her. She went on and on showing me where I had access to and how things worked. Some of it I understood. She then summoned the senorita of the house Georgia. I was taken into a room at the back of the house to wait. Apparently electricity is expensive as it was completely dark in the house. I was surrounded by heads. Many paintings filled the walls. They were paintings of heads both male and female - portraits of a type that were popular in Paris in the 20´s. The faces filled the massive canvases. They all had huge black eyes that seemed to be staring right at me. On the counters and floors were more heads. These ones appeared to be carved from stone and had more of an Egyptian look to them. They too were staring. Had I made a horrific mistake in renting this apartment? Were these the portraits of past travelers that didn’t make it home?

Georgia swept into the room in a great hurry as though being followed by someone - I got up ready to run if needed…but she motioned for me to sit back down. She was dressed completely in black. Georgia speaks English, Italian and Spanish and is very eccentric. Her first comment was that she loved being in the dark and hoped I didn’t mind? I had to admit it was a little bleak. No matter she said for a bit more money I could stay in the studio apartment up stairs. Up the stairs the sun was still shining and little room was bright. I paid the extra right away! The studio apartment comes with a roof top patio and I have amazing views! Stay tuned for the pictures and more …. Deb


Advertisement



Tot: 0.097s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0692s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb