Day #1: Off to Templo Mayor!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Distrito Federal » Mexico City
April 20th 1465
Published: November 1st 2016
Edit Blog Post

This here, is where I start my journey…I have decided to come here because it tells us so much about the culture and religion of my people, the Aztecs of Tenochtitlán. First of all, my people are polytheistic, as we worship over 1,000 gods, all of whom are patrons of different occupations. In general, all of the Aztec religious ceremonies are led by priests with the intent of pleasing the gods. My first landmark to visit is the incredible Templo Mayor, the main temple in this sacred area which is surrounded by a wall, encircling more than seventy buildings! The building itself is a giant pyramid with two smaller pyramids situated on top. Two long and broad staircases lead to the top of Templo Mayor where two temples stand. The temple structures on top of each pyramid are dedicated to Huitzilopochtli and Tlaloc, whose images are housed within. Huitzilopochtli is the deity of the sun, war, and human sacrifice, and is the patron of the city. He instructed the Méxica people, who had difficulty settling in an area, to throw the rebel’s heart as far as they could into Lake Texcoco, and the place where it landed would be marked by an eagle sitting on a cactus, holding a snake in its mouth, and this exact spot would mark the location in which they should settle. Huitzilopochtli is an idol to myself and the others of Tenochtitlán as he essentially founded our great land. My family and I are filled with great pride to be living under Huitzilopochtli. Not only is Templo Mayor a holy place in which our gods are honored, but it is also a place of gruesome sacrifice. These sacrifices, include humans, and are carried out at the temples to feed and honor our gods. A typical sacrifice involves the victim having their heart ripped out, being skinned, decapitated, and dismembered. Most people in Tenochtitlán, including me and my family, would sacrifice ourselves for Huitzilopochtli! Seeing the amazing architecture of this temple has inspired me to participate in more festivals and rituals more seriously and attentively, as I now realize how much we have our gods to thank for!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb