Viva Mexico!


Advertisement
Published: July 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Stood on the Piramide del SolStood on the Piramide del SolStood on the Piramide del Sol

Teotihuacan with the Piramide de la Luna in the background
Hi guys! I have been having a great time on my travels this far! I have really been enjoying the friendly people, the music, the food and the fiesta!

One of the highlights so far has been being able to catch up with some of my Mexican friends I met whilst in Australia. They have been amazing hosts they are all welcome to visit me in England whenever!

Travelling by myself hasnt been the lonely experience that I initially thought that it would be. I have found it really easy to meet people in simular situations, many of whom I have got on really well with.

I have spent most of my time in the central region of Mexico and a small amount of time in Mexico City. Mexico City is an unbelivable size, I managed to visit the centre of the city, the suburb which I was staying in called Coyoacan and the pre Aztec pyramids called Teotihuacan but I bearly scratched the surface.

I then headed to the beautiful colonial city of Guanajanto, where I spent the week mainly chilling out around the town and eating tacos! The place is so lively and is full
San Luis PotosiSan Luis PotosiSan Luis Potosi

One of the waterfalls in San Luis Potosi
of quirky bars and traditional colonial builindings. Also the city has hundreds and hundreds of mariatchi bands everywhere! One night I attempted to salsa dance which I am sure prooved to be a highly amusing (if not rather dangerous) experience for all of those around me!

The following week was spent visiting friends. First I headed to San Luis Potosi to visit my friend Fernando, who took me on a tour of some of the best sights of his state. I spent the first day swiming in waterfalls and visiting the worlds deepest cave where millions of bright green birds fly in like bullets at sunset. The next day was spent visiting the ruins of a castle that a crazy English man built based on the works of Dali... it was a truely odd place set in the middle of the rainforest, with waterfalls surrounding it. After we went canoeing along a river and jumped from cliffs into the water next to a waterfall which was 250m high.

After visiting Fernando I got the bus to Queretaro to meet up with Miguel and Carla. It was great to see them both again. That weekend they took me to the state of Michoacan where we stayed in a wood cabin on the shore of the lake and spent some time visiting some of the local towns and an island where there is a large indigeonous population. At night we stayed by the cabin and had bonfires. This was just what I felt like this weekend ... nice and relaxed!

Thanks to everyone that I have met and stayed with over the last three weeks, I have had a great time and I hope to see you again soon. Now I am heading south on my way to Guatemala, hope that you are all having fun! I miss you all.

Advertisement



20th July 2006

Boo!
I miss you Lauren!! Don't have too much fun or you won't want to come back! xxx J
22nd July 2006

Wow
Those photos look amazing lady! I'm v.jealous! Glad you're having a great time, as I write this it is pouring down with rain :o( ...bet you miss Leeds lots! :o)
24th July 2006

Hi
You sound to be having plenty of fun. Glad to know you are enjoying your trip. I did wonder whether you had really gone to Mexico as I saw a double of you in Dusseldorf last week. Have you got a twin or are you being clonned? The girl I saw in Germany looked and dressed so identical to you!
25th July 2006

hey lauren, sounds wonderful! Glad to hear you're having fun:)

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 19; dbt: 0.0243s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb