Last Days in Mexico City


Advertisement
Published: July 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Coyoacan is a district in Mexico City. It is quiet and quaint...Dr. Fernandez took a group of us out to this to see the Frida Kahlo museum. We took the metro for 10 stops to reach Coyoacan, and walked a mile to the area we wanted to visit. Some members of the group were complaining about the walk, but I say, what better way to get to know a city than to walk it?

My friends like to joke that I trip or stub my toe often...They try to count how many times I trip each day...I can't help it! I don't like to look at my feet when I walk but apparently in Mexico it is a necessity! The sidewalks are either uneven because of roots from trees growing underneath or there is cobblestone which obviously takes a lot of concentration to walk on.

Anyway, we first went to the Octavio Paz museum, which was his former home. It also contains a sound museum...one that records sounds from radio stations from around the world and displays them in a room full of speakers. "Acoustic Art" they call it...
Then it was off to the Frida Kahlo museum, which was actually her home when she was married to Diego Rivera. I only have photos from inside the courtyard because they were really strict about photos inside the actual museum. For anyone who doesn't know, Frida Kahlo was one of the foremost artists of Latin America...see for more info. She was, and still is, a fascinating and dynamic woman with a very interesting biography.

After lunch in Coyacan, we made the long walk back to the metro. We went to two different markets, the first, more general while the second was completely handicrafts. This second market was the best I've seen in Mexico...they had a little of everything as far as handicrafts go.

A quick wardrobe change and it was time for the group's last dinner. We certainly didn't have to travel very far-- there was a nice "Italian" restaurant across the street. It was the Mexican equivalent to Olive Garden, but it was still tasty (not to mention that our dinners were included in the trip price).

It is sad to leave Mexico...I've had so many good times with the other students, and I've learned so much about Mexico and myself on a personal level.

It is bizarre that I will actually be sleeping in my own bed, my own house, my own country...I feel much more detached from the US than I did before. Because I've stepped outside the "bubble" I have a new perspective on life, politics, and people. I cannot think of a better way I could have spent my summer. I plan to do this again and again so long as I have the time and resources to do so.


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

trying to look gangster...
Photo 7Photo 7
Photo 7

Octavio Paz's house
Photo 11Photo 11
Photo 11

Acoustic Art
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

trying to listen


25th July 2009

Ai Luvvv youuuu Mexico!!!
I enjoyed getting to know you and spending time with you was awesome. I hope to see you soon and Mexico will be in our hearts forever!

Tot: 0.227s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 7; qc: 65; dbt: 0.0603s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb