Viva Mexico!


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Distrito Federal » Mexico City
February 7th 2006
Published: February 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The first of only four destinations in Mexico was Palenque, to see some more ruins. These ruins, again, were set in the jungle and it was a bit more peaceful than Tikal. It was nice to spend the day there, wandering around and listening to all the jungle noises.

Second destination was San Cristobal de las Casas, a really nice colonial town with lots to see and do around the area. I took a tour to the small towns of San Juan Chamula and San Lorenzo Zinacantan. In Chamula, we went to the amazing church, lit up by thousands of candles, to witness the weird ritual that the local Mayans partake in, which is to drink rum and then drink Coca-Cola, in order to burp and release their evil spirits. This is a ritual for the whole family and even the babies 'get on the piss'. In Zinacantan, a local family invited us into their kitchen where they were making tortillas. The yummiest (and dribbliest) tortillas I've ever had.

Third destination was Oaxaca, town of chocolate, a big tree and clothes made from every kind of synthetic fibre under the sun. I was pretty eager to get to Mexico City so I didn't spend a lot of time and was ready to hit the 'big smoke'.

Fourth, and final, destination in Latin America was Mexico City, land of all things Diego & Frida, painful dental surgery, and, my newly discovered passion, 'lucha libre' (Mexican wrestling with all the theatrics).

In Mexico City I had time to synthesize all that I've learnt from my travels in Latin America. Each country has taught me something unique and special that I didn't know before I left.

Argentina: I can't Tango dance.

Uruguay: Colonia is really cold.

Bolivia: I look ridiculous in traditional Bolivian dress.

Peru: 'Reggaeton' music is really annoying (except when drunk).

Ecuador: Never mix grape and grain.

Colombia: A family of five can travel efficiently and safely on a single motorbike.

Panama: Flotsam can sometimes be very entertaining.

Costa Rica: I can fly.

Nicaragua: It hurts to be tall.

Honduras: Hostels near bus terminals are REALLY dodgy.

El Salvador: Crying gets results at Immigration offices.

Guatemala: Always carry more than $7.00 on you.

Mexico: Tooth extraction is painful.

But the one thing I have learnt above and beyond everything else is that I have the best group of family and friends that anyone could ever ask for. Thank you to everyone for following my adventures and for all of your e-mails that always put a smile on my dial.

So now begins the next adventure: road-tripping through the USA with my buddy Rob. I'm really looking forward to this trip but I'm concerned that all the Spanish I've learnt will fly out the window (not that it was spectacular, my most recent incident being when I had to try and find words to describe a situation in which i got stung on the cheek by a bee. The closest sentence I could come up with translated to "a bee put it's bum in my face").

Rob is also keeping a travel blog with all of our adventures, so to get his perspective on things click here.

Peace out. Word up. Right on.


Additional photos below
Photos: 30, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

ChamulaChamula
Chamula

mmmmm... tortillas baking over the fire.
ChamulaChamula
Chamula

Another Latin American church.
ChamulaChamula
Chamula

Our lovely host Juanita, doing a spot of weaving.
Pollo en MoléPollo en Molé
Pollo en Molé

This is Oaxaca's famous delicacy, Chocolate Chicken
I Love Paris CowI Love Paris Cow
I Love Paris Cow

These cows are part of an art project down one of the main streets of Mexico City.
Flying CowFlying Cow
Flying Cow

These kids were trying to milk it.
Sad CowSad Cow
Sad Cow

Bec, this one's for you.
Big CashewBig Cashew
Big Cashew

Mexico has big cashew nuts. You can imagine my excitement.


9th February 2006

madness... of the Potosi variety
Well, Kate i think i can safely say we all look bloody ridiculous in traditional bolivian dress... but boy can we do the shuffle... WAWITAWAWITA!! Good times mate, and happy road tripping... keep the adventures coming : )
9th February 2006

Big Cashews
Hey Kate, Looks like you are up to mischief again...great pictures, especially the big cashew! Perhaps you could start importing big cashews to Australia and build a monument in Melbourne to the big cashew, called, wait for it...The Big Cashew!!! I see bells, lights and whistles! You'll be famous and rich. Why hasn't anyone thought of this before? News from Melbourne. Rose Porteous, who now resides in Toorak, is withdrawing from social life because she is depressed and stressed and has lost 7kg. Stop. Bert Newton has made the switch to Channel 9, no more Good Morning Australia. Stop. Dusty Springfield was a lesbian, before she died and all. Stop. Heath Ledger is a gay cowboy...oops sorry typo error...stars as a gay cowboy. Stop. It's Summer in Melbourne but it is raining. Stop. Stop. Stop. Love Meg
10th February 2006

yes, yes i see.
12th February 2006

Have Fun
Hi Kate, Really enjoy your Blogs as usual. What a wonderful trip you're having. Everyone well over here. Love John

Tot: 0.202s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 14; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0708s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb