Picture Blog


Advertisement
Published: October 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Chill MonkeysChill MonkeysChill Monkeys

Free Zoo in mexico city. It was great, rivaled San Diego Zoo...
Now for a little something different. I´m just going to put some pics up and tell the stories. Before it was all text, now all pictures, good balance.

We are soon to head down to Guatamala. San Cristobol is great. Yesterday we went to a small maya village, chamalu. It was hard to take pictures, because it was native people living as they had for many centuries. The church there was the coolest ever. It had hundreds of candles lit, and pine needles on the floor. Me and Tess just sat no the floor. It was great! So relaxing in there. We went up to the front. There was a lady kneeling there, and a priest in plain clothes was saying something, a prayer over her maybe. Suddenly tess and I heard a Gobble gobble! The priest was waving a chicken over her shoulders, and it was making really funny noises. We had to resist laughing, it was too much! Anyway, no pics were allowed in there. I kept wanting to take some though.

This town is really cool. But Tess and I are stoked to go to Guatemala, a whole new country!

In Chamalu, we walked this
Mexico cityMexico cityMexico city

Tess Lookin a bit lost in the market
big loop out into the country. We got to see the way of life of very local peoples. It´s so cool, because these people are indigenous, while all the Native Americans of USA have been moved to reservations. Now I get to see the native people. It´s great, because I´ve always liked their worldview and philosphy about mother nature, being thankful for what the world gives you, and being in balance. I think Native Americans are so wise. The ones we saw lived a very simple life, trying to survive by crafts and farming. It´s rough, and I think very hand to mouth. Crafts and farming are the very things tess wanted to do professionally, maybe, but now she´s reconsidering...I told her she should move to that little village and just go for it. There was some land for sale...

anyway today I´m just playing some guitar and I printed out some songs to learn, like hotel california, the most requested song down here. Man that song has a lot of lyrics!

Also studying up on spanish. Tess got us a grammer book, so I should be gettin good soon. Y Entonces, debo escribir en español.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

TetuihacanTetuihacan
Tetuihacan

Biggest city of the world, 1400 or so. I love this place! A great day to see it.
TetuihacanTetuihacan
Tetuihacan

the magic cactus tree.
The PalaceThe Palace
The Palace

nice view. This is where I played piano.
Fishin in the parkFishin in the park
Fishin in the park

yes, these people are fishin in these neon green waters. We saw them catch some. It´s the darndest fishin I ever seen. They use empty coke bottles to catch minnows. I don´t know what they do with the fish...
Steaming Corazon of CowSteaming Corazon of Cow
Steaming Corazon of Cow

These guys had a bubbling big pot of cow hearts steaming, and it smelled so disgusting, and looked it. I asked them for a picture, and they were happy too, they were proud of the hearts, which you can get a tasty taco of, but I didn´t...


Tot: 0.225s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 23; qc: 102; dbt: 0.1689s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb