CHIAPAS - GETTING THERE


Advertisement
Published: April 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

FAIR TRADE

Las Vegas - Mexico City - San Cristobal

CHIAPAS - GETTING THERE
“Getting there” turned out to more complicated than I thought! I traveled with a group that was put together by Stan a pastor with the United Church of Christ. His goal is to provide opportunities for individuals to see first hand the how their participation in Fair Trade projects benefit the small farmers. This particular trip used resources and contacts from, Witness for Peace, a peace advocacy group based in Washington DC, and Equal Exchange a coffee importer, processor and distributor.

After my application was accepted I received a travel advisory. Several shots were recommended. I checked around and found the most cost effect place to get the shots was the local Health District. It turns out they have a satellite clinic at McCarran International Airport in Las Vegas which is only 30 minutes from my home. I would say it worth checking with your local public health agency to see what they have. The travel advisory also included the suggestion for anti-malaria drugs. Checking with the CDC, (click on DESTINATIONS). I was able to determine the compound and dose that was recommended for the Chiapas area in Mexico. With shots and an anti-malaria Rx from my Doctor I was almost ready to go. I figured I should get a travel health insurance policy, one where they assist with local treatment and evacuation if necessary. I did not want my family to have to try to figure out what to do if I were incapacitated while in the outback of Chiapas. I chose and air ambulance and med insurance provider from the CDC link to a State Department (on the left select HEALTH ISSUES. The providers are near the bottom of the page ).
With this policy all my wife, or a traveling companion, would have to do is call the stateside number and provide as much information as possible and insurer would take it from there.

My itinerary called for a direct flight from Las Vegas to Mexico City arriving at 10:00 p.m. and then a 14-hour Bus trip to San Cristobel de Casace. As a result of reading several TravelBlogs here on this site about Mexico City it sounded like the taxi service could be dangerous so I decided book a hotel with an airport shuttle service. The R&J hotel was a little more expensive that I had originally planned but I decided the safety factor was worth it. The hotel had changed it name, which made locating the shuttle a little more difficult that expected, but all went well; the staff in the airport ground transport were fluent in English and very helpful. The next morning the hotel arranged for a taxi to the Orient Bus terminal. I did not wander around the neigorbhood because I have not researched it, my loss I’m sure. I presented my printout of Internet reservation, to the ADO ticket agent and paid for the ticket with my credit card. The ticket agent, sensing I was not an experienced traveler, took the time to explain the particulars to the ticket so I did not miss my bus. The big ADO bus was remarkably comfortable with plenty of legroom, the volume on the movies was a little loud. The bus fare was $89 verses the one-way airfare of $145. I chose the bus because I wanted to see the countryside. It turns out I did not see as much of the countryside as I had hoped because the long haul bus runs are frequently night runs. When I made the Internet reservation I selected a seat on the left side to avoid the afternoon sun in my window on the trip South.

I arrived in San Cristobel de La Cases at 6:30 a.m., which is not the best time to find a room. It was not made easier when I made a mistake reading the travel guide and confused two hotels with similar names but not similar prices. Not a problem, there were so many hotels that it was easy to find a clean and comfortable room at a reasonable price.

I had two day before meeting the advance team from Equal Exchange. I use the day to get my bearings and find the Hotel l where I was to meet them.

THINGS FOR NEXT TIME - Pack lighter.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.321s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb