San Cristobal Las Casas


Advertisement
Published: October 30th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

The Journey

Starting October 1st 2005.

Sumidero CanionSumidero CanionSumidero Canion

Here we are upriver looking to where the enterance to the canyon begins, the water was really high but tonnes of wildlife!
Well we arrived in San Cristobal early this morning, the bus stopped a lot on the way there so the trip was about 13 hours in total. For some reason when they took a 5 minute break at some point around 1am I didnĀ“t bother to get up and stretch my legs so a few hours later my left foot went numb. That sucked. Took off my shoe and attempted to massage the foot back to health -no luck. The good thing about stopping a lot is that people get off, so Ryan finally left my side for two seats of his own and I could stretch out my legs. Woke up again around dawn to see some awesome mountains and only about 20 minutes from San Cristobal. We got off the bus and it was cold! Glad I had my hoody and my wind breaker. Finally I can wear my tuque and not look like an idiot.

Had a suprise on the bus as well, our first stop... but who should get on our old friend Tim the German. We talked and agreen to stay at the same place in the morning, so when the bus got in we all walked to the hostel along with others and checked in. Just in time for their free breakfast! Two pieces of bread and some jam. Was great for me but Jords morale was low. The lady making breakfast made awesome coffee so that was a treat.

Ry, Jord, Tim and I went to find a van or bus or something to take us about an hour away to Sumidero Canyon, where you rip down a damned river on a boat and get to check out canyons, wildlife etc.

We got there OK, saw tonnes of birds, crocodiles (or aligators Im not sure) monkeys and iguanas. Lots of pictures and it warmed up and was really pleasant. We waited a bit for a bus but found one and headed back. Slept a bit and are going to do some reading before figuring out dinner and picking up some beer.

Tommorow we check out the market and get some halloween costumes!

Advertisement



1st November 2005

Nice Pic!
Nice shot jas....we need a couple hungover shots from post-halloween day of the dead :P

Tot: 0.209s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 28; qc: 134; dbt: 0.1305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb