San Christobal de Las Casas


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

San Christobal de Las Casas, is 2100m above sea level so the past few days here have been cold, we have to wear our fleeces and jeans, it´s odd as I never experienced such pronounced changes associated with altitude before. We got here at 8:30am after taking a 12hr night bus, it was surprisingly pleasant since we had an empty 1st class bus so lots of space for me to spread me limbs, I even slept for 70% of it! And whilst I wouldn´t say "refreshed" described my mental state, I was at least alert. We checked into a hostel, it was ok but I described it to people as "rustic"; stucco walls, planks for a roof, a friendly trail of ants working hard via my bed and woolly blankets.

During that day we explored the town of San Christobal which was was nice enough but for some reason I wasn´t that bothered with it, it had the token churches, little indiginous museums and local artisan markets, blah, blah, blah....bring on the alcohol I say! 😊 Soooo....that night we hit bar Revolution which was playing some damn funky ska (Raggae on speed?) where the locals were totally going for it on the dance floor, I didn´t dance because... of the dodgy knee....I swear it hurts! Tis True! 😉 We chatted to a group of local guys (yay. guys. so pleased.) who were very lively and chatty and answered some of our curious questions, I made them laugh with my smattering of Mexican slang...oh yeah! Orale!

We decided to take a tour of the Sumadero Canyons during the day, it involved a super fast boat ride, the canyons reached 600m in places and were very impressive, the pics explain it better than I can so I won´t waffle on! Next we had the pleasure of a sketchy local town called Chiapas Del Corro for an hour break for lunch, some Israeli kid decided he needed 1.5hrs so we alllll had to live with his decision (conducted in Spanish). It was around 40degC in the sun, humid as Satan´s armpits and we just didn´t want to be there. Then to top it all off the Israeli old lady in front was resting her fingers in the van´s sliding door rail (senility comes to us all) so when I slammed it shut to keep out the hot air she YELPED like hell as her digits got a good squishing. Drat. I felt really bad but she admitted she was at fault. Thought I would post all that just to point out it ain´t all plain sailing here!

What I learned today If you have teeth like Exhibit A you have dentures and you thought it´d be funky to lace them stylishly with silver like every other Mexican, if you have teeth like Exhibit B....you are a drug dealer or a human traffiker. Well, that´s what the guys said!
Things that make me say WTF?! All us white people seem to look the same to Mexicans, if I said "No gracias" to your kind offer of a cheesy hammock/bracelet/cold water/piece of gum/sombrero/your daugher the first time then it´s more than likely I won´t want it a second or third time!
Hurray Cool breezes, caiphrinias (sp?) and...to Kez & Nick
Argh Rumpled clothes...(yeah yeah, I know..tough life....)

Mozzie Bites = 1

Probs uploading rest of the pics....


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb