Day 13 - Agua Azul


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Chiapas » Agua Azul
July 11th 2013
Published: July 16th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Agua AzulAgua AzulAgua Azul

Agua Azul
Another early start as we had a long day ahead. Our first stop was at a massive waterfall not far from Palenque I believe. Some of the group jumped into the lake, but I wasn’t in the mood for it, to be honest, I was feeling a bit grumpy from sleeping in the jungle for two nights. Anyway I decided to walk behind the waterfall which was pretty amazing and I ended up banging my head on a rock, so that will teach me for being grumpy!

After the waterfall our next stop was Agua Azul, but before we got to Agua Azul, our mini bus got a flat tyre and we must have waited there for about an hour while our coach driver got some assistance. Local children kept checking us out and talking to us and they got some toys from the Australian girls in the group. I guess breaking down in the middle of nowhere is what makes traveling so much fun, as you never know what is going to happen next.

Anyway we got to Agua Azul, a beautiful crystal clear river with some amazing waterfalls. We walked quite far along the river, passing by
WaterfallWaterfallWaterfall

Waterfall
locals who were trying to sell us stuff. We found a nice spot away from everyone so that we had the river to ourselves. The water was cold at first, but once you got swimming in it, it was nice and relaxing, and it was sunny as well. The currant was quite strong so swimming against it was hard, but was easy on the way back to land as you just let the currant push you along.

We then had some nice lunch before heading to San Cristobal. This journey on the bus took a long time and the roads were bendy, I think everyone including myself got bored and tired.

Once we got to San Cristobal, there was a massive drop in temperature, which was a shock to the system. I’d say the temperature had dropped by about 10c. I don’t know why it got so much colder but it was probably to do with being high up in the mountains. San Cristobal is very similar to Merida but bigger.

Once we had checked into our hotel in San Cristobal, we went out for a nice meal and then I ended up having an early night.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Flat TyreFlat Tyre
Flat Tyre

Driver trying to sort out flat tyre
Agua AzulAgua Azul
Agua Azul

Agua Azul


Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb