Campeche in February


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Campeche » Campeche
February 18th 2008
Published: February 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The air is heavy and sticks to my skin and clothes, I am in a café where ceiling fans whir overhead, travellers replenish themselves with antojitos and cerveza, a Nelly Furtado video plays on a TV mounted in the corner, sunlight leaps enthusiastically off the brightly painted facade of the building across the street and lazy traffic cruises down the narrow passageway in between. I have been here several months and a lot has changed for me. I often walk down the Malecón, a seaside esplanade
alive with gorgeous pelicans and other sea birds, plucky fishing boats, families and joggers. It would be lovely if it weren't for the severe contamination causing a pungent sewer-odour to hover endlessly and the discouraging quantity of common garbage sloshing in the water and piling up on the shore. Sometimes it is hard to learn about environmental science, because the things people do make me feel so sad and confused, even guilty when I realize how mindlessly destructive some of my own everyday practices actually are. Did you know that over the years human activities have done away with 4/5 of the dolphins in the Black Sea? Or that our atmosphere will become too congested with hydrocarbons to support life long before the oil wells run dry? Well... for my first blog I don't want to get too heavy, I might get a bad online reputation. Of course there are amazing human beings in this world and reasons to be positive, I am opening my heart and my mind to the solution. One Love!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb