Mar 14


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California » Tijuana
March 14th 2006
Published: March 16th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Mar 14

This morning it was so very hard to get up; that tile floor is doing a number on my back. Today we worked our asses off and were able to complete our glorious sidewalk. Go us! This was in between playing movie star as the kids wouldn’t stop asking for our autographs which I was more than willing to give. A few of my favourites were Matt signing “Matt is Hot” or my “Sometimes I like to sit and eat watermelons while pondering the meaning of the world surrounding us”. They’ll never know what we’re actually writing so why not have fun with it?

We were almost finished when we were stopped shortly for a assembly with the kids. It was so cool as the different grades presented us with different cards they had made. IK got one with the picture of a little boy in graduation attire: definitely something to hang on to. I asked Sergio if since they showed us so much of their culture if we could show them part of ours. I started up a wave and ran around following the sea of hands. When I hit the curve the concrete on my shoes prevented me from having any grip and my legs slipped out from under me in front of the whole school, their parents and many onlookers. Classic Jeff.

After we finished the construction I was able to have my first shower all week, Im pretty sure they chill the water so that we won’t use up their water. Either way, it was fackin cold man and my nipples could cut the cement we just laid. But at least I can now run my hands through my hair, yes it was that bad.

At the end of the day we had all the kids from a local school that was actually needy to the one we were working at to give away toys and clothes. This part didn’t make me cry like last year but it still felt good to give to kids who rarely receive anything.

Taegan is soooo cool I wish I could be more like her. she gives really good massages (Ms Morisette was wrapping my ankle because its still sore from my drunken going away party and Taegan got a hold of my computer.)

We’re now on our way to Jorge’s Ranch north of Tecate where there was apparently snow for the first time ever. Its considered a miracle, I’m thinking its more of us Canadian’s bringing the curse. Im sure they’ll be lots of dancing so I brought my dancing shoes and some of mine and dans tequila from the strip club night. Should be fun.

LATER THAT NIGHT
Well, apparently it was too far to drive and two hours in we decided to turn back, I should have known not to listen to a bunch of MexiCANTS. We’ve had dinner is some strange log cabin restaurant and played strip war upstairs next to some Mexican family. Now we’re heading back to the school about 5 hours later. This time tomorrow I’ll be halfway to Australia. Crazy thought!



Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Tank youTank you
Tank you

We all got a card and a chocolate. Gramatically correct?


Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb