The Climate Refugee


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California Sur
February 11th 2012
Published: July 24th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Wicked BajaWicked BajaWicked Baja

They have created an art installation walk in the new Puerto. Love it!
Unfortunately, a severe lack of vitamin D does strange things to your sensibilities. Why else would I leave the safety of my beloved homeland twice a year to voluntarily fly into a country plagued with corruption and horrific violence...all in the name of getting some sunshine?

Hello, my name is Andrea and I am a climate refugee.

Climate refugee: one who has been forced to leave his/her native place due to climate change, a phenomenon known as forced migration...

Well okay, I'm not exactly forced....but I am also not alone. In 2011, 600,000+ Canadians just like me flocked to Mexico to get relief from our ridiculous winter weather. I guess the risk of being randomly assassinated at the local frutas y venturas is minuscule compared to the perils of going absolutely bonkers from lack of sunlight.

Besides, the Mexican government love us pale, fat peoples from the North. We brought over $528 million to their economy in 2010 alone. That's a lot of pesos. However, I highly suspect our money is used to bribe the drug cartels for a guarantee of no violent conflicts transpiring in their profit rich hotspots like Cancun & Los Cabos. Great plan,
Nacho LibreNacho LibreNacho Libre

Can wrestling be any more fun!
unfortunately criminals don't always keep their word...I discovered this first hand when I recently witnessed a shoot out in the parking lot at the Cabo Wal-Mart between the good police and corrupt ones. Surreal.

But I LOVE this place. I know for me, being born and raised in British Columbia...rain is just a part of life. And like the Matrix, we all just go about our business until someone gives us the red pill. My red pill was the Baja. I woke up one day and realized I had developed a severe case of SADs....no, not syphilis...SADs - seasonal affective disorder - also known as winter depression.

Apparently the measly flickering fluorescent bulb hanging over my head all winter wasn't sufficient enough to ward off this particular syndrome. It creeps in innocently enough with symptoms such as difficulty waking up, insomnia, morning nausea, tendency to oversleep, anxiety, craving carbohydrates, irritability, lack of energy, difficulty concentrating on tasks, withdrawal from social activities and yikes, decreased sex drive...which also explains Canada's declining population stats...but I digress.

It has been argued that SADs is just an evolved adaptation in humans to the hibernation response. Presumably, food was scarce during most of human prehistory, and a tendency toward low mood during the winter months would have been adaptive by reducing the need for calorie intake...plus, there wasn't a convenient Tim Horton’s or McDonalds on every street corner.

In many animal species, hibernation is the direct response to surviving a cold winter…which is all well and fine, but us humans have to go to freaking work! This theory also explains why most Canadian men feel the need to construct a man cave within their home. I just want to flee. My overwhelming urge to run away from my country becomes unbearable right around the same time as the darkness descends. I need sunshine, stat. Could there be a place in this world where I am guaranteed sunshine every single day? A place that is popcorn-fart dry? Enter the Baja. So I pilgrimage to my version of Mecca....and like that song I've got my pumped-up kicks and I can outrun bullets.

Cabo San Lucas and San Jose del Cabo = Los Cabos. If you've read any of my previous blogs, you'll know I love the peculiarity of this place. Over the years I have tried to put my thumb on
The local dudesThe local dudesThe local dudes

talented locals posing while they wait for their competition set
what is so appealing, what keeps me coming back. There is no logical answer.

My normal activities are based around volunteering and various eco-projects, but I also go looking for stimulating distractions, and don't need go far. Case in point, I know some locals who know locals that are willing to expose me to oddball quirky Mexican culture on a regular basis.

You have not truly enjoyed Mexico unless you witness a ‘nacho libre’ wrestling match. Whether it the vibrantly tight costumes that leave little to the imagination, or the showboating antics that ooze that Latino machismo, or the rap music played at an inhuman decibel, I am hooked. On this particular occasion, I find myself on the outskirts of San Jose del Cabo in the dead of night. An old ranch on a dusty back road is tonight's host for this event. I am stone sober and I wish I weren't. As the only large towering blonde amongst a slew of little men...all of whom have been drinking since Friday night, I am stared at severely. I eye two dishevelled Tios propped up at by the fence having siestas...hopefully, one has peed himself. Around a crudely erected
Baja BlueBaja BlueBaja Blue

glorious days along the playa
wrestling ring, fans are whipped into a frenzy cheering for their favourite hometown boy. At first I sit quietly…mouth agape in astonished position, midway I am up off my chair hurling curses at the opposition in my crude Spanglish. Not clear if they were at all effective, however I may have insulted someone's female dog very satisfactorily.

My entrance fee is earned back tenfold...I haven't laughed that hard in a long while. The ever present smell of refried meat lingers in the air...there is always the opportunity to find a taco at a moment's notice here. Before I realize it, the event concludes and one of the winners rips off his colourful mask jubilantly as the crowd goes wild. They carry him off on their shoulders and everyone suddenly filters out...after all, it's a serious workday mañana. I'm left standing there with the crickets, wondering what just happened.

Most of my adventures on the Baja come by fluke really. I like it that way. The unpredictability of events that make up one's life is truly a joy lost in the general hustle and bustle of life.

One morning, as I was driving the Mexican 500* (*a forced
The Ring Bearer AwaitsThe Ring Bearer AwaitsThe Ring Bearer Awaits

Cow has eaten all the church grass and now just waits for it to grow back...I'm guessing.
participation should you attempt to drive any highway in Mexico) from La Paz back to Los Cabos when I noticed there was quite a gathering at the long stretch of beach along the coast. The local surf competition at La Curva was underway. When I wandered down, I ran into a couple people and next thing I knew I was being asked to help with the judging. Two problemos with this. I don't know how to judge a surf competition, and I don't speak Spanish fluently. What could go wrong? I am handed an official looking clipboard, and a beer. I deduct that perhaps this might be a little on the informal side, and relax. My fellow judges and I have a fantastic day as we watch from the comforts of our beach chairs, each local surfer choreographs a mesmerizing dance on top of every perfect wave. It is a skill I can truly envy having attempted to do the same my earlier years in Oahu. Downside, I think I may have sunburnt my eyeballs.

Even the day to day chores and errands become so much more enjoyable in the sunshine. Every Saturday I walk down to the arroyo
The sunset of a millionThe sunset of a millionThe sunset of a million

Yes, the sun sets every evening like clockwork but for some reason this one is so spectacular it feels like it will never happen again.
on the edge of SJD to get my weekly vegetables and fruit from the local organic farmers. But honestly, I'm also there to watch all the hoopla unfold. This Mercado publica has become somewhat of a tourist attraction with live music and bouncy castles, cheap rock jewellery and masseuse tables. The patchouli hippies with their flowing dreadlocks dance around the fat cruise ship patrons like twinkle-dust fairies as they hock their wares made of twigs and berries.

Today I get in I get out. Besides, a text from my friend J says he is waiting on me. An expat living here in San Jose del Cabo he is easily amused by anything sport related. Here on the Baja there are endless places to go on an all terrain vehicle and he attempts to entice me into a little off-roading. Considered the lazy man's sport back in Canada, on the desert sands it is a blast. The only problem with this recreational sport is you will never, ever see a critter of any sort. They seem to have this uncanny ability to hear you hours before you come upon them. Weird. Burros on the other hand, believe they have internal
Surfing girlsSurfing girlsSurfing girls

Surfsupedes rocks!
cloaking devices, so the dingdongs stand really really still and think no one can see them. Even in the middle of the road. Silly asses.

J and I head out late after my scheduled español lesson. I'm not one for the debilitating afternoon heat, but I'm also not going to get left behind. We opt for the hills at Sierra la Laguna with the plan of tracking back along the empty beaches while the sun sets. It's quite nice. J is a photographing genius and he's always looking for that perfect shot…spending inordinate amounts of time setting up to get it. This drives my good friend Carmela, his wife, crazy and she won’t go anywhere with him if he brings a camera. I take full advantage of this spousal discrepancy to sneakily learn all the photography tricks of the trade. Most of the time I come away with slightly improved focused blurry streaks I call photos.

This time, as we turn west and meander our way back along the playa, we come across a crowd of people standing near the shoreline in front of the Fiesta Inn releasing turtles to the ocean. The kids are having a blast,
Cervasa Time!Cervasa Time!Cervasa Time!

You will run out of gas before you run outta beach on the Baja.
holding on to the squirming babies for as long as they can before being prompted to place them on the sand. They scurry to the ebbing tide in that primordial panic. I look into the enthusiastic eyes of each child and know that this particular second in time will be carried unto their adulthood. My hope is for an appreciation of conservation and a love for all ocean creatures. A place as beautiful as this needs future generations to secure its flora and fauna before it's too late. I myself, have heartbrokenly come across many upside-down turtles on the beach with soda rings wrapped tightly around their necks, plastic bags protruding from their mouths with fishing line gouged deep into their flippers. As usual, I curse out humanity under my breath.

My days fly by like a fart through a colander. As a displaced person whose refugee status is quickly drawing to a close, I reflect back and try to find ways to bottle up my immeasurable Bajan joy to take away with me. I'd smuggle the fresh fruit but I'm pretty sure the interactions with the border guards may cause unnecessary alarm. I leave behind everything except the
DudeDudeDude

shred pacifica style
clothes on my back. Tomorrow, I will reluctantly return to my home up North. I’ve been told it’s been wet and gloomy for the past month and a half...not one single day of sunshine.

In my last moments of freedom, I Kubler-Ross the 5 stages of grief. I start with denial and check my air ticket three times to be sure I don't have the dates wrong. Then I phone work to confirm its still there. You never know.

Anger burbles up after my fourth margarita. Luckily I don't have a significant other to take it out on. I seethe. Hung over, I feel the urge to bargain...surely I could just quit my job and stay, right?

Depressed, I pack up my things and rage out on my patio, the doves coo and the hummingbirds that dip and dart around my head, now just an annoying liability.

During my last phase, acceptance, I dig my toes deep into the warm sands and let the last rays bathe me, the saltiness of the sea breezes by my nose. Climate refugee I am. But I am the luckiest refugee in the world.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Future marine biologist?Future marine biologist?
Future marine biologist?

Any child that gets to experience this, will take it with them to adulthood and hopefully help to save this one.
Organic Market in SJDOrganic Market in SJD
Organic Market in SJD

Very pleased at how fast the farmers market has taken off
The Desert is Alive!The Desert is Alive!
The Desert is Alive!

Wonderful (and really old) cactus species of all sorts to see. This one caught my eye.
I can see you.I can see you.
I can see you.

Silly burros, we can see you.
Varoooooomm!Varoooooomm!
Varoooooomm!

Trapsing the BAJA outback by ATV. Nothing to get in the way except a few burros
Go Turtles!!Go Turtles!!
Go Turtles!!

A quick cheer to encourage them back to their home
Beautiful BajaBeautiful Baja
Beautiful Baja

The Sierra lae Laguna is a fantastic place to explore
Aguas MuchoAguas Mucho
Aguas Mucho

You believe there couldn't possibly be a drop of agua anywhere in this desert, but water is plentiful on the Baja. Just follow the arroyos.


24th July 2012

It is great to see a new blog from you. I always enjoy your stories and how you paint such a vivid picture with your words. And honestly, Aside from a chef I worked with in the 80's, I have never heard anyone else use the phrase popcorn-fart. I use it to describe overcooked, dry food. Seeing it in your story made me laugh.
11th September 2012

Ta Brendan! You are the first person I know who uses popcorn fart dry to describe food! Awesome. Excited for you and your trip to Peru and Machu Picchu...you will love it.
25th July 2012

Hey Andrea,
What a fantastic blog! You are an amazing writer and I'm waiting for the book! Your love and passion for Mexico is evident in each and every word, each tale and each person. But, alas, last winter I remember you were trying to embrace the cold Canadian air and rekindle your roots. I would imagine being enclosed in that blanket of cold and dark forced you to throw that fantasy behind you. Cherish your memories and hopefully the warmth will keep you going.
11th September 2012

Why thank you Miss MJ! After I came back from Cabo this year I realized how I must flee the great white north to survive...even after I try to embrace it. lol. Ah don't get me wrong I love my home, I just have a funny way of showing it. Cheers!
25th July 2012

the luckiest refugee in the world
Nice to see Andrea is out of hibernation...enough to store the sunshine...so you can endure the winter months...gotta love the cold...brrrr!
11th September 2012

Only an Australian would say 'gotta love the cold' lol!!!
25th July 2012

My Canadian grandparents were also climate refugees...
Every winter for 30 years after my grandfather retired at 65, they would drive from Toronto to Bradenton, Florida from November to April. The last year on his drive home he had a minor accident, but my aunts wouldn't let him drive anymore. Anyway, obviously you wrote and published this at the heighth of your glorious summer in British Columbia, so winters in Cabo must be even better than you have described so well. J also must have taught you something about great photography since your pictures are marvelous. I am tempted to as Cabo to my list...there are some good deals from Denver.
11th September 2012

oh yes, I think you should add Cabo to your list too! Although most seasoned travellers would scoff at it and believe it is a fantasy resort destination for vacationers only, I hope my blogs about the Baja will show there is substance under the surface. Cheers Bob!
28th July 2012

Entertaining and creative
A very enjoyable read - this blog will be highlighted on Travelblog's Facebook page!
29th July 2012

Thank you Shane! Hey a little birdy tells me you might go to Vanuatu? Cool! I hope to go maybe next year, or diving in Palau, either way I'll be in S Pac 2013 and will be stopping by Brisbane. Put the coffee on! lol
15th August 2012

Great blog, snow bird!
Your very funny stories and fab photos of real life in Cabo may draw me down there yet--I'd always just thought of it as a posh resort and not "real" Mexico. I traveled with a Canadian snowbird around the Yucutan when I was young; I picked up "eh" from him and now many think I'm Canadian--all the better for traveling. You've got a wicked humor--great blog!
16th August 2012

Thanks Tara! Unfortunately you are right, Cabo has been hit by the ugly resort plague...but as you know if you stick around you can find a spot of little nuances that make it unique and interesting! I hope you will go! p.s. just about to read your latest on the front page...weird!

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 15; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb