The latest happenings.....


Advertisement
Mexico's flag
North America » Mexico » Baja California Sur
January 31st 2010
Published: January 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Things are going well here and the fence WAS completed but no workers showed up after the Quince fete on Friday night! Imagine that? The party did continue to 4 am so Isidro was "tired" and had to rest on Saturday. Tired? Or too many cervezas? Mmmmm. But they were here early and got the fence done so the major eyesore of the park is now removed. We were happy w/ the outcome. So the major work for this year is done. Next year we hope to tackle the floor and possibly install some ceramic tile and put in a small outside kitchen behind the RV but who knows?

Monday I went with some gals from the park here to La Paz for some "power" segunda shopping---second hand stores. It is always a hoot. But several of the shops have folded and the merchandise was not as "good" as last year. But a new section of segundas has opened out near the airport in La Paz so we had to go check them out as well. Much better "stuff". I found an ottoman in nice shape for about $12 and a little table w/ a couple of drawers for $12 to go in the "patio living room". It is actually a night stand table but it works for me b/c it has drawers that open nicely and I can put "stuff" in them!

We had another fire on the beach on Thursday and that is always fun. I also began to teach English to 4 little kids here. It was really fun so I will meet w/ them about 20 minutes every week. I continue to teach Spanish to my my fellow residents here twice a week for about an hour. That too is fun. So I am pretty busy! I never seem to accomplish anything else!

Today the owner of the park left town and did not pay the workers. So guess what???? Yeah. One of the guys, Rogelio, painted our deck and posts a 2 years ago and now works in the park. His job description includes raking the dirt, picking up debris and watering all the plants in the park. Since we got to know him, he now comes daily for coffee during his break and we chat for a bit and it is good practice for me and he is a very nice guy. I had gone to San Jose today for the market that they have there so Mike was here and Rogelio came to ask for some cash. He is planning to varnish our fence (bamboo) so he would be working it off. So Mike gave him some cash and then went to the paint store to get varnish. No varnish until next Friday. No varnish in the PAINT STORE!!! Not surprising at all....
Life is always so interesting here.

The wind lay down today and I could have gone kayaking. Yesterday I went and saw a spectacular whale show! There were two out there and they jumped and flopped and gave me a close up show! So close that I could see the barnacles on them!!! It was spectacular and I was out there hooting yelling! What a thrill to be so close to see them!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Another view of "outdoor living room"Another view of "outdoor living room"
Another view of "outdoor living room"

....featuring my concrete couch!
Ugly bug....Ugly bug....
Ugly bug....

.....kills spiders like scorpion and tarantulas. This bug is hard to kill!!! lol


31st January 2010

Your life is so much fun......
........that it makes mine seem boring! Keep on enjoying every day. I love your updates and pictures. I'm going to Denver Feb. 5-16 to help with the little g'sons. My DIL is going to Peru on a business trip and guess what? my son is asking for help! The boys will be in daycare so it will be mornings and evenings, which is about all this old gal can handle, as it sounds like Riley is entering his "terrible 2's" a little ahead of schedule!! Orange County had too much rain for a while and lots of floodings/evacuations/even a couple of tornados! But I live in such a safe area there's no need to worry.
31st January 2010

Yow!!!
THAT WHALE IS SOMETHING ELSE....SPECTACULAR!!! It is really pretty. Your place looks awesome. I love all the colors. I can imagine it lifts your spirits. So pretty. Send more pic like the whale when you get them. I love it! Love, Sue
31st January 2010

whale show
kathy, what a sight....i am sure its a breathtaking beauty....sounds like you are having a great time...enjoying the teaching and all that nature and life in mexico provides......have fun....we are freezing in hotatlanta......rain......snow......in the northern part of atlanta....where jim and kelly live..love the patio....looks so cozy....
31st January 2010

your place
I love the fence - the place looks great! It is so colorful, too!
1st February 2010

Cool!
Love all the decorating and the picture of the whale WAS spectacular!!!!

Tot: 0.195s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0935s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb