Ferries and Cockroaches


Advertisement
Published: July 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I´m in Cabo San Lucas happy to be in some dry heat. I spent longer than expected in Puerto Vallarta (not that I have any expectations...). Woke up and thought "I need to get out of this town." Hopped on the bus to Mazatlán in order to catch the ferry over to La Paz. I fell asleep past my stop in Mazatlán and had to take another bus back three hours. Bummer. Got to Mazatlán and stayed in the historical part of the city. It was so cute; very artsy and not very touristy. There is a world famous school of dance right near where I was staying and I got to see their end of the year show which was amazing. The audience was seated on the stage with the dancers so we were only about three feet away from them. It was different and amazing AND I didn´t fall asleep =). On my third day, I got on the 18 hour ferry from Mazatlán to La Paz. I was standing in line for a room and I met a woman named Deborah from the states whom had been travelling and living in South America for the last year and a half with her boyfriend. She was really cool and we spend the whole time exchanging travel stories. We got in our room, thankful to have beds and a place to lock our backpacks and were chatting. It only took us about five minutes to realize that our room was completely infested with cockroaches. They weren´t the big B-52s, but they were big enough to give us both the hebbie jebbies...We found out from one of the employees on the boat that it had been fumigated the day before so all the cockroaches are coming out from the depths. So we left our room to go sit on some tables. While sitting there, a little by named Julio came up to us and started talking. He was really cute and outgoing. We found out that he was 11 years old and loved karate. He left and came back to show us his second place karate metal for Mazatlán and his report card (which had high marks). Then we started talking about Mexican pop songs and he started singing all of them. This ball full of energy all of a sudden said "Hey! Let´s all go sing karaoke...there´s karaoke upstairs!!" So we cruised up to the bar which did have karaoke. Julio serenaded us, walking around the whole bar singing some Mexican song that I didn´t know. That boy is going to be famous. Deborah and I went back to our room after the bar closed to try to sleep without thinking of the dang cockroaches. We finally drifted off and at about 6 in the morning we had pounding on our door. Deborah got up, assuming that we had arrived and needed to leave. No no no...it was Julio screaming "THERE´S DOLPHINS, THERE´S DOLPHINS!!!!" Oh jeeze, after 3 hours of wolf sleep, dolphins were the last thing on our minds. "Sorry Julio, we´re tired and need to sleep." The following two hours were inturrupted again from Julio letting us know that breakfast was being served and that we arrived to La Paz. Oh Julio...

So now I´m in Cabo San Lucas looking for surf. Hope everyone is enjoying summer time and the sun shine. More stories to come....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb